SOJTHWESTERN NEWS Media Contact: Scott Maier

214-648-3404 scott.maier@utsouthwestern.edu

UT Southwestern faculty receive honors

DALLAS – Feb. 4, 2005 – Three faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center recently were honored for outstanding achievement in their fields.

Dr. Robert Suter, associate professor of emergency medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center, was named president of the 22,000-member American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP). Dr. Suter is the first person elected to this prestigious position who, at one time, worked as an emergency medical technician and paramedic.

Dr. Suter, a collaborator on the National Disaster Life Support initiative, served on the ACEP board of directors in 1999 and 2002 and also one year as the board's treasurer-secretary.

Dr. James D. Griffin, associate professor of anesthesiology and pain management at UT Southwestern Medical Center, was recently appointed chairman, chief medical officer of the Texas Correctional Managed Health Care Committee by Gov. Rick Perry. The committee manages the healthcare provided by the UT Medical Branch at Galveston and Texas Tech Health Sciences Center for state prison inmates.

Dr. Griffin was first appointed to this committee in 2000 by then-Gov. George W. Bush and reappointed by Gov. Perry in 2001.

Dr. Zhijian "James" Chen, associate professor of molecular biology at UT Southwestern Medical Center, recently received the prestigious Norman Hackerman Award in Chemical Research in recognition of his work.

The Welch Foundation presents the \$100,000 award annually to honor up-andcoming scientists at Texas institutions who are age 40 or less. Recipients are recognized for expanding the frontiers of chemistry through their innovative research endeavors.

Dr. Chen is the second UT Southwestern recipient of the award, which pays tribute to Norman Hackerman, longtime chairman of the Foundation's Scientific Advisory Board. Dr. Xiaodong Wang, the George L. MacGregor Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Science, received the 2003 award for his research on programmed cell death.

###

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER AT DALLAS

Southwestern Medical School • Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences • Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School Affiliated teaching hospitals and outpatient clinics

Office of News and Publications • 5323 Harry Hines Blvd., Dallas TX 75390-9060 • Telephone (214) 648-3404 • FAX (214) 648-9119