## NEWS

## THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS (SOUTHWESTERN)



MEDICAL SCHOOL AT DALLAS

BOB FENLEY, DIRECTOR OF INFORMATION

JOHN WEEKS, ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR

DALLAS--Dr. Franklin D. Murphy, chairman of the board and chief executive officer of The Times Mirror Company, will be speaker for commencement exercises of The University of Texas (Southwestern) Medical School at Dallas June 1.

A physician by training, Dr. Murphy is widely known in the fields of medicine, education and communications. He held the top academic posts at the University of Kansas and later the University of California at Los Angeles.

The medical school's 28th commencement exercises will be in McFarlin Auditorium on the campus of Southern Methodist University.

Doctor of Medicine degrees will be awarded to 107 seniors in a class which includes 93 men and 14 women. This will bring to 2,271 the number of physicians graduated by UTSMS since its founding in 1943.

In addition, 11 graduate degrees will be conferred, including seven Ph.D.'s, three M.A. degrees, and one Master of Medical Art degree.

Presiding at the 8 p.m. exercises will be Dr. Charles C. Sprague, dean of UTSMS.

--more--

Dr. Robert Merrett Pike will be marshal for the academic procession, with Dr. Samuel McDonald McCann, Dr. Robert Woodfin Lackey and Dr. Robert Forrester Jones as assistant marshals.

Invocation and benediction will be by Rev. Wilford Virless Bane, pastor of the First Methodist Church in Temple. Rev. Bane is the father of a senior who will receive an M.D. degree and another son who is a 1968 graduate of UTSMS. Mrs. Martin Wagner will present an organ processional and recessional.

The award of Ho Din will be presented by Cecil Green, a trustee of Southwestern Medical Foundation. Dr. Reuben Adams, associate dean for student affairs, will present candidates for the M.D. degree and Master of Medical Art degree. Dr. Parkhurst Shore, associate dean for graduate studies, will present Ph.D. and M.A. candidates. Administration of the Physician's Oath will be by Dr. John Chapman, assistant dean for postgraduate education.

Dan Williams, member of the Board of Regents of The University of Texas System, will confer degrees.

The commencement speaker, whose father and brother became physicians, earned his own M.D. degree from the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine in 1941. He already had graduated with an A.B. degree from the University of Kansas and had spent the 1936-37 academic year on an exchange fellowship at the University of Goettingen in Germany.

After postgraduate work at Pennsylvania, Dr. Murphy entered the Army in 1944 and was assigned to tropical disease research. He was separated from the Army as a captain in 1946, with the Army Commendation Ribbon and Citation.

From 1948 to 1951, he was dean of the School of Medicine and associate professor of internal medicine at the University of Kansas. In 1949, he was selected as one of the ten outstanding young men in the nation by the U.S. Junior Chamber of Commerce.

Dr. Murphy served as chancellor of the University of Kansas from 1951 to 1960 and as chancellor of the University of California at Los Angeles from 1960 to 1968.

He was elected to the board of directors of The Times
Mirror in 1965 and was named chairman of the board in 1968. A
fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Dr. Murphy
is a member of the boards of a number of educational and cultural institutions, as well as those of commercial enterprises.
He is president of Samuel H. Kress Foundation.

Dr. and Mrs. Murphy reside in Beverly Hills, Calif.