## UT SOUTHWESTERN CELEBRATES 50 YEARS OF MEDICAL EDUCATION

DALLAS--Fifty years ago in makeshift military buildings, Southwestern Medical School began educating doctors in Dallas. Now as part of its golden anniversary observance, The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas is honoring alumni with events May 3 to 7, including a colorful convocation.

Highlight of the convocation at 10:30 a.m. Friday, May 7, will be a procession of all the graduating classes in UT Southwestern's history, led by Dr. Ervin Addy, Class of 1944, the school's first graduate. A representative from each class will carry a banner indicating the year of graduation.

"As each class comes in, its banner will be carried to the stage and set in a holder, so that the backdrop of the stage will be the 50 banners," said Dr. Bryan Williams, associate dean for alumni affairs. "The current senior class will be at the end of the procession as the link to the future."

Presiding over the convocation will be Dr. Kern Wildenthal, UT Southwestern president. A brief historical review of UT Southwestern will be given by Dr. Charles C. Sprague, president emeritus and chairman of the board of Southwestern Medical Foundation. Drs. Michael Brown, Joseph Goldstein and Johann Deisenhofer, UT Southwestern's Nobel laureates, will give the principal addresses. Brown, holder of the W.A. (Monty) Moncrief Distinguished Chair in Cholesterol and Arteriosclerosis Research and the Paul J. Thomas Chair in Medicine,

(More)

CONTACT: Shanna Swendson (214) 648-3404

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER OFFICE OF NEWS AND PUBLIC INFORMATION 5323 HARRY HINES BOULEVARD DALLAS, TEXAS 75235-9060 TELEPHONE (214)648-3404 FAX (214)648-8252

OGTHWESTERN NEWS

50th anniversary--2

directs the Erik Jonsson Center for Research in Molecular Genetics and Human Disease; Goldstein is chairman of molecular genetics and holder of the Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Science and the Paul J. Thomas Chair in Medicine; and Deisenhofer is a professor of biochemistry and holder of the Virginia and Edward Linthicum Distinguished Chair in Biomolecular Science. Dr. Donald Seldin, president of Southwestern Medical Foundation and holder of the William Buchanan Chair in Internal Medicine; Dr. Joe King, president of the Southwestern Medical School Alumni Association; and Dr. Charles B. Mullins, executive vice chancellor for health affairs of The University of Texas System and other representatives of the UT System administration will be part of the platform party.

Descendents of some of the school's founders will be guests of honor.

The week of 50th-anniversary alumni activities begins with a series of continuing education courses for general surgeons and internists, as well as specialists in anesthesiology, dermatology, radiology, ophthalmology, neurology and critical care.

At a public symposium on Thursday, May 6, a panel of leading genetics researchers -- including Dr. James Watson, one of the Nobel Prize-winning discoverers of the structure of DNA -- will discuss the implications of the Human Genome Project for science, medicine and society. The symposium will be held at 2 p.m., in the Tom and Lula Gooch Auditorium on the UT Southwestern campus.

A reception and dinner also will be held May 6 for all alumni and their spouses.

The 50th anniversary alumni activities are funded by the participants, Glaxo Inc., Majors Scientific Books and Southwestern Medical Foundation.

###

NOTE: The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas comprises Southwestern Medical School, Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School, affiliated teaching hospitals and outpatient clinics.