

May 22, 1986

CONTACT:

Lori Waggoner

OFFICE:

214/688-3404

HOME:

214/245-6611

\*\*\*\*UTHSCD graduation ceremonies to be held May 31

DALLAS--The University of Texas Health Science Center at Dallas will award degrees to 221 students during commencement ceremonies on Saturday, May 31. The ceremonies, scheduled to begin at 8 p.m., will be held on the campus' McDermott Plaza.

Southwestern Medical School, one of the three components of the health science center, will be graduating its 42nd class. Organized during the pressures of World War II with only 18 faculty members, the school awarded degrees to 33 men and three women at its first commencement in 1944. Today Southwestern is recognized as one of the 25 best medical schools in the country, and the class of 1986 includes 184 students, one-quarter of them women.

In addition, the Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, another component of the university, will award 13 master's degrees and 24 doctorate degrees during the ceremonies.

The evening will be highlighted by an address from Admiral Bobby Ray Inman, president and chief executive office of Microelectronics and Computer Technology Corporation of Austin and a staunch supporter of higher education.

Inman, who serves on the Governor's Science and Technology Advisory Council, has an outstanding history of service in the U.S. Navy. He served for 19 years aboard an aircraft carrier, two cruisers and a destroyer as well as in numerous assignments ashore in Naval Intelligence.

After serving as director of Naval Intelligence from 1974 to 1976, Inman served as director of the National Security Agency from 1977 to 1981. Coincident with his appointment as deputy director of Central Intelligence, he was promoted to the rank of admiral, the first naval intelligence specialist to attain four-star rank. He retired with the permanent rank of admiral in 1982.

Inman will discuss "Technology: Competing for the Future." He will urge graduates to be aware of the tremendous opportunities for creating and applying new technologies in the international marketplace.

Following Inman's address, the Ho Din Award will be presented to Preston Blomquist, who has been chosen as this year's outstanding medical school graduate. John Hackett will receive the Nominata Award, the highest honor given by the graduate school.

Degrees are to be conferred by Jess Hay, chairman of the Board of Regents for The University of Texas System. The physician's oath will be administered by Dr. Ernest Poulos, a 1950 graduate of Southwestern Medical School and 1985 president of the Dallas County Medical Society. The Rev. Priscilla Wood Neaves will give both the invocation and the benediction. The Texas Brass Ensemble from North Texas State University will provide music for the ceremonies.

###

Distribution: AA, AB, AI, AM, SC