## JT SOUTHWESTERN NEWS

Media Contact: LaKisha Ladson 214-648-3404 lakisha.ladson@UTSouthwestern.edu

## UT Southwestern faculty receive honors

DALLAS – June 27, 2011 – Faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center recently were recognized for achievements in their fields.

**Dr. Richard Auchus**, professor of internal medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center, recently received the Pioneer Award from the Congenital Adrenal Hyperplasia Research Education and Support (CARES) Foundation. Holder of the Charles A. and Elizabeth Ann Sanders Chair in Translational Research, Dr. Auchus focuses on investigating steroid and sterol biosynthesis and action. With CARES, Dr. Auchus has made major contributions to developing guidelines for Comprehensive Care Centers to manage patients with congenital adrenal hyperplasia (CAH) throughout their lifetime, and he has co-sponsored efforts to equip emergency response vehicles in Texas with parenteral hydrocortisone administration protocols for patients with CAH and adrenal insufficiency.

**Dr. Ilya Bezprozvanny**, professor of physiology at UT Southwestern Medical Center, has been named holder of the Carl J. and Hortense M. Thomsen Chair in Alzheimer's Disease Research. The endowed chair was established in 1990 by longtime philanthropists Carl J. "Tommy" Thomsen and his first wife, Hortense "Cissy" McClure. Dr. Bezprozvanny's research focuses on calcium signaling, neurodegeneration and synaptic function, with an emphasis on Alzheimer's disease and Huntington's disease.

**Dr. Leticia Castillo**, professor of pediatrics and director of the division of pediatric critical care at UT Southwestern Medical Center, has been elected to the American Pediatric Society. The goal of the society is to "bring together men and women for the advancement of the study of infants, children and adolescents and their diseases, for the prevention of illness and the promotion of health in childhood, for the promotion of pediatric education and research, and to honor those who, by their contributions to pediatrics, have aided in its advancement."

**Dr. Nancy Street**, associate dean of the UT Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences and assistant professor of microbiology at UT Southwestern Medical Center, has received the American Association of Immunologists' (AAI) 2011 Distinguished Service Award. As AAI membership chair from 2004 to 2011, Dr. Street helped increase AAI's membership by more than 100 members each year. At UT Southwestern, Dr. Street recruits minority students to UT Southwestern and helps them reach their career research goals.

###

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER AT DALLAS

UT Southwestern Medical School • UT Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences • UT Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School UT Southwestern University Hospitals & Clinics

Office of News and Publications • 5323 Harry Hines Blvd., Dallas, TX 75390-9060 • Telephone 214-648-3404 • Fax 214-648-9119 www.utsouthwestern.edu