SOJTHWESTERN NEWS

Contact: Jennifer Donovan (214) 648-3404

UT SOUTHWESTERN FACULTY HONORED

DALLAS — December 2, 1994 — Fifteen faculty members at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas have won recognition recently for outstanding work in their fields.

Dr. J. Donald Capra, professor of microbiology and internal medicine, was one of five Americans inducted as foreign members in the Scandinavian Academy of Science and Letters, in ceremonies presided over by Norway's King Harald V, honorary president of the academy. Capra holds the Edwin L. Cox Distinguished Chair in Immunology and Genetics at UT Southwestern. He earned a bachelor's degree from the University of Vermont and a medical degree from the University of Vermont College of Medicine.

Dr. Thomas S. Curry III, professor of radiology, has been named a fellow of the American College of Radiology. Fellowship is awarded for significant scientific or clinical research in the field of radiology or significant contributions to its literature, outstanding work as a teacher of radiology and an outstanding reputation among colleagues and in the local community. Curry's medical degree is from UT Southwestern.

Dr. Joel Feiner, professor of psychiatry, received the 1994 Champion Award for Psychiatric Rehabilitation from the Texas Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation. Recently Feiner also received the Professional of the Year Award from the Dallas Alliance for the Mentally Ill and the Pamela Blumenthal Memorial Prism Award from the Mental Health Association of Greater Dallas.

He is clinical and training director of Mental Health Connections, a community mental-health program under the joint auspices of UT Southwestern's Department of Psychiatry and the Dallas Mental Health and Mental Retardation Center. His work involves psychiatric care of the urban poor. Feiner earned a medical degree from

(MORE)

NEWSMAKERS - 2

Albert Einstein College of Medicine of Yeshiva University in New York.

Dr. P. Craig Hobar, assistant professor of plastic surgery, received a citation from the American Society of Maxillofacial Surgeons for the best plastic and reconstructive surgery research paper written about a maxillofacial topic during 1993. His paper was entitled "The Role of the Dura in Cranial Bone Regeneration in the Immature Animal." Hobar earned a medical degree at the University of Miami School of Medicine.

Dr. John D. Minna and Dr. Jason B. Fleming have been chosen to receive a three-year fellowship grant from the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation. The grant gives an experienced breast-cancer researcher the opportunity to select a postdoctoral fellow to train in his or her laboratory. Minna is director of UT Southwestern's Harold C. Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center and of the W.A. "Tex" and Deborah Moncrief Jr. Center for Cancer Genetics and holder of the Lisa K. Simmons Distinguished Chair in Comprehensive Oncology. Fleming is the postdoctoral fellow who will train with Minna.

The Komen Foundation also awarded a 1994 National Project Grant to Dr. Gail Tomlinson, assistant professor of pediatrics. The grant is for the Komen Alliance Program for Follow-up of Young Women Genetically Predisposed to Breast Cancer, a registry of families at high risk for breast cancer. The project's goal is to use molecular information to estimate risk and provide breast cancer screening information for very young women who are genetically at risk. Tomlinson earned a medical degree at George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences and a doctorate from Duke University.

Dr. Amit Pandya, assistant professor of dermatology, received the 1994 Teaching Award from the family practice residents at St. Paul Medical Center, a UT Southwestern-affiliated hospital. He earned a medical degree from UT Southwestern.

Dr. Rod J. Rohrich, chairman of plastic surgery, has received the highest

NEWSMAKERS — 3

honor in basic science research given by the American Society of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery. The award honors Rohrich's work in locating the true source of blood supply to the nose, a finding that is important for surgeons performing nose surgery.

Rohrich also has been elected to the American Association of Plastic Surgeons. The oldest organization of board-certified plastic surgeons in the United States, the AAPS limits membership to surgeons who have made significant contributions to the advancement of the art and science of plastic surgery.

Rohrich holds the Crystal Charity Ball Distinguished Chair in Plastic Surgery. He earned a medical degree from Baylor College of Medicine in Houston.

Dr. Douglas P. Sinn, chairman of oral and maxillofacial surgery, was selected to receive the 1994 William J. Gies Oral Surgery Award from the William J. Gies Foundation for the Advancement of Dentistry Inc. The winner is selected from nominations by the American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons. Sinn holds the Robert V. Walker, D.D.S., Chair in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at UT Southwestern. He earned a bachelor of science from the University of Iowa and a doctorate in dental science from Creighton University.

Dr. Alice Smith, professor of pathology, won the Citation of Merit from the Texas Society of Pathologists. The award is given by the society to researchers who have made significant contributions to the field of pathology. A Phi Beta Kappa graduate of UT Austin, Smith was part of UT Southwestern's first freshman class. She received her medical degree from UT Southwestern in 1946. During her career, she has won the U.S. Food and Drug Administration Commissioner's Special Citation and the Harvey W. Wiley Medal from the FDA.

Dr. Kimberly Yonkers, assistant professor of psychiatry and of obstetrics and gynecology, received a two-year Young Investigator Award from the National Alliance for Research on Schizophrenia and Depression. She also was selected as a new investigator travel recipient for the 1994 New Clinical Drug Evaluation Unit Program, sponsored by the Division of Clinical and Treatment Research of the National Institute of Mental Health. Yonkers earned a medical degree from Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons.

NEWSMAKERS - 4

Dr. Andrew R. Zinn, assistant professor of internal medicine, has been awarded a \$130,000 postgraduate scholarship through the Pfizer Scholars Program. As a Pfizer Scholar, Zinn, an endocrinologist who earned a medical degree and a doctorate at UT Southwestern, will explore the biochemical basis of Turner's syndrome, a complex human-developmental disorder of women who are missing part of one sex chromosome.

Each year the Pfizer Scholars Program makes an award to one candidate in each of the following fields: biological psychiatry/neuroscience; cardiovascular medicine; diabetes/endocrinology; infectious diseases; and rheumatology/immunology.

###