June 25, 1991

CONTACT: John Quinn Office: 214/688-3404 214/790-4238 Home:

The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas 5323 Harry Hines Boulevard Dallas, Texas 75235-9060 214/688-3404 Office of Medical Information Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas The University of Texas Southward Dallas Texas 75235-0060 214/65 The University Hines Bruleward Dallas ****UT Southwestern pathologist named distinguished young researcher

DALLAS -- Dr. Louis J. Picker, assistant professor of pathology at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, has been honored with the 1991 Distinguished Young Researcher Award by the President's Research Council.

Office of Medical Information

Each year the council, an organization dedicated to the support and advancement of medicine and science through research, selects a young member of the UT Southwestern faculty whose laboratory investigations show exceptional promise. The award includes a "seed money" grant.

Picker is studying immune/inflammatory response. The knowledge gained from his research will lead to better understanding of the pathogenesis of diseases such as rheumatoid arthritis, inflammatory bowel disease and chronic inflammatory dermatoses. Eventually the research may result in the development of new therapies.

The researcher received a bachelor's degree from the University of California, Los Angeles and M.D. from the University of California, San Francisco. He did his internship and residency at Beth Israel Hospital in Boston and joined the UT Southwestern faculty in 1990 after completing a research fellowship at Stanford.

The President's Research Council meets several times a year to hear presentations by UT Southwestern faculty members and tour new Distinguished young researcher - 2

facilities at the medical center. Council membership fees are used to support the Distinguished Young Researcher's work. Individual memberships are \$500, and corporate memberships are \$750.

Members of the steering committee include the founding co-chairs, Ford Lacy and Cece Smith, as well as Eloise and Joe Foster, Laura W. Ginsberg, Merle and Rich Hardison, Ann and Jim Kelly, Phyllis and Sandy Sacks, Eliza Solender and Gary Scott, Susan Abramson, Margaret Ann Cullum, Pat and Ed Ducayet, Ellen and Conrad Masterson, Bill and Lee Schilling, Mary and Pat Spillman, Beverly and Bob Blumenthal, Grace and Bill Hunt, Ann and Jeff Margolies, Chelen and Bill Moore and Jane and Otto Wetzel.

###

NOTE: The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas comprises Southwestern Medical School, Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences and Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School.