## SOJTHWESTERN NEWS

Media Contact: Mindy Baxter

214-648-3404

melinda.baxter@utsouthwestern.edu

## SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL FOUNDATION HONORS PROTHROS, SMITHS WITH COMMUNITY SERVICE AWARD

DALLAS – Nov. 6, 2001 – Southwestern Medical Foundation will honor Caren Prothro and her late husband Vin Prothro and Jean Smith and Dr. Bob Smith with the 2001 Charles Cameron Sprague Community Service Award at the foundation's annual dinner tonight at the Hyatt Regency Dallas.

The Community Service Award was created in 1991 to honor individuals who have provided significant support to the improvement of medical education, medical research and patient care. In 1996 the award was renamed for Dr. Charles Cameron Sprague, president emeritus of UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas and chairman emeritus of the foundation.

Civic leaders Vin and Caren Prothro have stood as pillars of Dallas' philanthropic and volunteer community. Vin Prothro, who died last year at age 58, was chairman of the board and chief executive officer of Dallas Semiconductor, which he founded in 1984. He was instrumental in developing a number of key projects at UT Southwestern, including securing land for the medical center's North Campus.

Last year, UT Southwestern posthumously named a new campus plaza for him in recognition of his years of service.

Caren Prothro, a member of Southwestern Medical Foundation's board of trustees, serves on both state and local boards of J.P. Morgan-Chase Bank and on the boards of Southern Methodist University, the Dallas Center for Performing Arts Foundation, the Dallas Museum of Art, the Connemara Conservatory and the Salvation Army. She is treasurer of the Hoblitzelle Foundation and president of Letot Center Capital Foundation.

"I have long felt that UT Southwestern is one of Dallas' – indeed, the nation's – most valuable assets," she said. "Vin and I agreed that the future of medicine could be

found in the laboratories of biomedical scientists, so many of whom were right here in our own scientific community."

Dr. Bob Smith, a retired Dallas pediatrician who founded Doctors Hospital here, said he and his wife, Jean, enjoy making "investments" in local organizations.

"We get so much joy from giving," Dr. Smith said. "It gives me great pleasure to see what we can accomplish in tandem with community service organizations. This community has been so good to us, and we want to reciprocate back to the community."

•The Smiths established the Bob Smith, M.D., Center for Research in Pediatric Psychiatry and the Dr. Bob Smith Foundation Center for Prostate Research, both at UT Southwestern.

Dr. Smith is a member of Southwestern Medical Foundation's board of trustees and Zale Lipshy University Hospital's board of directors. Jean Smith has served on the board of directors for the Dallas Museum of Art and the Willis M. Tate Distinguished Lecture Series at SMU and has been an active member of the Junior League of Dallas and The Crystal Charity Ball.

More than 60 years ago, a group of private citizens and philanthropists established Southwestern Medical Foundation with the goal of improving medical education and health care in Dallas. The foundation created Southwestern Medical College, which became a part of the UT System in 1949. Since then, the foundation has supported medical research and education at UT Southwestern through numerous endowments and grant programs.

Past Community Service Award recipients are Ruth C. Altshuler, James W. Aston, Paul M. Bass, Julia T. and Louis A. Beecherl Jr., Rita C. and William P. Clements Jr., Nancy G. Brinker, Joe M. Dealey, Cecil H. Green, Nancy B. Hamon, Jess Hay, Adelyn and Edmund Hoffman, Erik Jonsson, George L. MacGregor, Margaret M. McDermott, Edith and Peter O'Donnell Jr., Margot and Ross Perot, Ralph B. Rogers, Sarah M. and Charles E. Seay, Annette and Harold C. Simmons, Dr. Charles Cameron Sprague, and Donald Zale.