southwestern medical school - graduate school of biomedical sciences - school of allied health sciences

AUGUST 20, 1975

CONTACT: Silvi Taylor

******KERA-TV's Lee Clark to address 106 graduates from The University of Texas School of Allied Health Sciences on Sunday, Aug. 24.

DALLAS--Ms. Lee Clark, executive producer and moderator of KERA-TV's "Newsroom," is to be the featured speaker at graduation ceremonies for The University of Texas School of Allied Health Sciences Sunday, Aug. 24, at 2:30 p.m. in the Tom and Lula Gooch Auditorium on the UT Health Science Center campus here.

The school, one of three components of the health science center, is graduating 106 candidates, the largest class in its five-year history. For the first time, the exercises will be held on campus.

Dr. John Schermerhorn, dean of the allied health school, will preside at the ceremonies and present the graduates to Dan C. Williams of Dallas, vice-chairman of The UT System Board of Regents, who will confer the degrees.

Candidates from seven allied health programs will receive bachelor of science degrees, including the second class of Physician's Assistants, with 13 graduates. Other programs include Allied Health Education, 5 candidates; Health Care Administration, 5; Instructional Media Technology, 2; Medical Technology, 18; Physical Therapy, 36; and Rehabilitation Science, 19.

Eight candidates from the graduate Dietetic Internship program will be presented professional certificates. This was the last year of this program, which has been changed to an undergraduate Dietetics program that began its first class in June.

Professional certificates also will be given to the PAs and Physical Therapy graduates in addition to their B.S. degrees.

Leading the academic procession at the exercises will be Dr.

Donald Pool, professor and director of the Rehabilitation Science program, and Doris E. Porter, associate professor and director of the Physical Therapy program. The invocation and benediction will be given by Dr. Richard H. Sume, chaplain at Dallas Theological Seminary.