

January 13, 1992

CONTACT: Susan Mitchell Office: 214/688-3404 Home: 214/399-1252

****UT Southwestern to present three scholarships named in honor of Martin Luther King Jr.

DALLAS -- The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at

Dallas will announce the winners of its fourth annual Martin Luther

King Jr. Scholarship at a reception on King's birthday, at 4 p. m.

Wednesday, Jan. 15, in Gooch Auditorium on the UT Southwestern campus.

Scholarships will be presented to two medical students, Kimberly

Persley and Jose Pena, and a graduate student in clinical psychology,

Steven Ray Krebaum.

The scholarship recognizes UT Southwestern students who have excelled in the areas of academic achievement and community service. The financial needs of award candidates are also considered in the selection of scholarship recipients.

Dr. Kern Wildenthal, UT Southwestern president, and Dr. Drew Alexander, assistant dean of student affairs, clinical assistant professor of pediatrics and chair of the MLK Scholarship Committee, will present the award.

###

NOTE: The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas comprises Southwestern Medical School, Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School, affiliated teaching hospitals and outpatient clinics.