

Media Contact: Amanda Siegfried 214-648-3404 amanda.siegfried@utsouthwestern.edu

UT Southwestern faculty receive honors

DALLAS – Dec. 12, 2006 – Faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center recently were recognized for achievements in their fields.

Dr. Roger Rosenberg, professor of neurology and director of the Alzheimer's Disease Center at UT Southwestern Medical Center, has been awarded an honorary membership in the American Neurological Association. The association's highest award, it is bestowed on individuals who have made "unique contributions to neurology and neurological science" nationally and internationally over a "substantial period of time." The association is the world's oldest neurological association and has awarded only 115 honorary memberships since 1875.

Dr. Debu Tripathy, professor of internal medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center and director of the Komen/UT Southwestern Breast Cancer Research Program, recently received the Annual Outstanding Achievement Award in Medicine Research from the Greater Dallas Asian American Chamber of Commerce. Dr. Tripathy is an internationally recognized researcher and oncologist whose research and clinical interests revolve around the discovery and testing of new treatment approaches for breast cancer.

###