SOJTHWESTERN NEWS

Media Contact: Scott Maier 214-648-3404 scott.maier@utsouthwestern.edu

Three UT Southwestern faculty receive honors

DALLAS – September 3, 2004 – Three faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas recently were recognized for outstanding achievement in their fields.

Dr. Steven McKnight, chairman of biochemistry at UT Southwestern, recently received the 2004 Wilfred T. Doherty Award from the Dallas/Fort Worth section of the American Chemical Society. The award – for significant achievement in research, teaching and service in the chemical field – is the highest sectional honor bestowed.

Dr. McKnight is only the fifth biochemist to win the Doherty Award, out of 34 recipients. He will receive the award during the ACS' Southwest Regional Meeting this fall. His research focuses on gene-specific transcription factors and is aimed at understanding the regulation of transcription factor function at a biochemical level.

Dr. Clifford L. Simmang, director of colon and rectal surgery at UT Southwestern, recently was appointed an American Medical Association representative of the Residency Review Committee for Colon and Rectal Surgery.

The committee – with representation from the American Board of Colon and Rectal Surgery, the American College of Surgeons, and the AMA – maintains the quality of graduate medical education in colon and rectal surgery. Dr. Simmang, associate professor of GI/endocrine surgery, will serve a two-year term beginning Jan. 1, 2005.

Dr. Diane M. Twickler, professor of radiology and obstetrics and gynecology at UT Southwestern, was recently inducted into the American College of Radiology as a fellow during the organization's annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

Fellowship is one of the highest honors conferred by the American College of Radiology, a national nonprofit association serving more than 32,000 radiologists, radiation oncologists, interventional radiologists, nuclear medicine physicians and medical physicists. About 10 percent of members are selected for fellowship.

###