## SOJHWESTERN NEWS

214-648-3404 amy.shields@utsouthwestern.edu

## UT SOUTHWESTERN FACULTY RECEIVE HONORS

DALLAS – Jan. 29, 2004 – Faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas recently were recognized for outstanding achievement in their fields.

**Dr. Eric Nestler**, chairman of psychiatry at UT Southwestern, has been elected as a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He will be recognized for his contributions in the area of neuroscience at the group's annual meeting in February.

Dr. Nestler is widely known for his studies of drug addiction and the chemistry of how drugs work in the brain.

**Dr. Luis F. Parada**, professor and director of the Center for Developmental Biology at UT Southwestern, recently received the Herbert M. Karol Chair of Research award from the Brain Tumor Society.

The two-year, \$200,000 award was given to Dr. Parada at the society's annual dinner and meeting in Newton, Mass. The Brain Tumor Society's research mission is to aggressively raise and grant funds to stimulate and support carefully selected basic scientific research projects.