UT SOUTHWESTERN NAMES EMERGENCY MEDICINE CHAIRMAN

DALLAS--Dr. James E. Hayes has been named chairman of the Emergency Medicine Division of the Department of Surgery at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas.

Hayes comes to UT Southwestern from Methodist Medical Center in Dallas, where he was associate director of emergency services.

He plans to expand the clinical, academic and research activities of the division. "There are incredible opportunities for emergency medicine at UT Southwestern and at Parkland Memorial Hospital, where our doctors provide all physician services," he said.

A native of Whitesboro, Hayes received his medical degree from Southwestern Medical School and completed his internship and residency at Parkland Memorial Hospital. He joined Methodist Medical Center as a staff emergency physician in 1982 and was named associate medical director of emergency services in 1984. In 1990 he became medical director for CareFlite.

Hayes is on the steering committee and is a council delegate of the American College of Emergency Physicians. He is currently president of the Texas College of Emergency Physicians. He has been a member of the Emergency Medicine Political Action Committee of Texas since 1985 and served as chairman from 1988 to 1991. He has served on UT Southwestern's Emergency Medicine Residency Advisory Board since its inception in 1988.

###

NOTE: The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas comprises Southwestern Medical School, Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School, affiliated teaching hospitals and outpatient clinics.

> CONTACT: Kay Johnson (214) 688-3404

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER OFFICE OF MEDICAL INFORMATION 5323 HARRY HINES BOULEVARD DALLAS, TEXAS 75235-9060 TELEPHONE (214) 688-3404 FAX (214) 688-8252