SOJTHWESTERN NEWS

Media Contact: Scott Maier 214-648-3404 scott.maier@utsouthwestern.edu

UT Southwestern faculty receive honors

DALLAS – March 11, 2005 – Two faculty from UT Southwestern Medical Center recently were recognized for outstanding achievement in their fields.

Debra Cason, associate professor in the Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School's emergency medicine education program at UT Southwestern Medical Center, has been elected emergency medical technician-at-large by the board of directors for the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians. Cason, who has been with UT Southwestern since 1977, has been an emergency medical technician-paramedic for 27 years and is a registered nurse and published author.

Dr. Roger Rosenberg, director of the National Institutes of Health-funded Alzheimer's Disease Center at UT Southwestern Medical Center, recently received two top awards, including a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Texas Neurological Society.

The Alzheimer's Women's Association for Resources and Education (A.W.A.R.E.) honored Dr. Rosenberg with the Nancy R. McCune Award for Alzheimer's Research. A.W.A.R.E., a support organization for the Greater Dallas Chapter of the Alzheimer's Association, has given six such awards nationally to recipients at prominent Alzheimer's research centers.

Dr. Rosenberg has been a member of the UT Southwestern faculty since 1973, and his latest research interests include seeking ways to prevent amyloid proteins from causing devastating plaques that are characteristic in brains of Alzheimer's patients.

###

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER AT DALLAS Southwestern Medical School • Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences • Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School Affiliated teaching hospitals and outpatient clinics