SOJTHWESTERN NEWS

Contact: Jennifer Donovan

(214) 648-3404

UT SOUTHWESTERN FACULTY ELECTED TO PROFESSIONAL POSTS

DALLAS — April 4, 1995 — Five faculty from UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas have been elected to office in professional organizations or appointed to honorary posts in their fields.

Katherine L. Chapman, vice president for legal affairs and technology transfer, was elected vice president of planning by the national Association of University Technology Managers at its annual meeting in March. Chapman is the first Texan to serve on the board of this 1,300-member organization.

G. Patrick Claggett, M.D., professor of general surgery, was appointed to the National Institutes of Health's Surgery and Bioengineering Study Section, Division of Research Grants. He will serve on the NIH study section until mid-1998. Study sections review grant applications, make recommendations to NIH advisory councils or boards and survey the status of research in their fields. The NIH invites members to join a study section based on demonstrated competence and achievement in their scientific disciplines.

Lynn Little, Ph.D., chairman of medical laboratory sciences at UT Southwestern, has been appointed assistant dean of the Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School. In this position he will help oversee academic affairs for the school, one of three professional schools comprising UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas. He also has been elected chairman of the UT System Faculty Advisory Council and will assume that post in June.

Paul Peters, M.D., professor and former chairman of urology at UT Southwestern, has been elected to the executive committee of the American College of Surgeons. Peters, who holds an Ashbel Smith Professorship, has served as a regent of the American College of

(MORE)

PROFESSIONAL POSTS -2

Surgeons since 1989. The organization's 19 regents are elected nationwide. Dr. James Carrico, chairman of surgery at UT Southwestern, also serves as a regent.

Helen C. Redman, M.D., professor of radiology at UT Southwestern, has been elected president of the Radiological Society of North America for 1995. She also is president-elect of the Texas Radiological society. She is the first woman to head either organization.

###