SOJTHWESTERN NEWS

Media Contact: Scott Maier 214-648-3404 scott.maier@utsouthwestern.edu

UT Southwestern faculty receive honors

DALLAS – April 8, 2005 – Three faculty from UT Southwestern Medical Center recently were recognized for outstanding achievement in their fields.

Dr. Lynne M. Kirk will become president-elect of the American College of Physicians at its annual business meeting April 16 in San Francisco and will take office as president in April 2006. She will be the second doctor from UT Southwestern to serve in this capacity. Dr. Willis Maddrey served as president in 1993.

Dr. Kirk is associate dean for graduate medical education, associate chief of the division of general internal medicine and professor of family and community medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center.

Dr. Eric Nestler, chairman of psychiatry at UT Southwestern Medical Center, has been named the honorary chairman for the National Alliance for the Mentally Ill's 2005 Dallas fund-raiser, "NAMIWalks for the Mind of America."

The 5K walkathon on May 7 will begin and end at Old City Park south of downtown. Several teams from UT Southwestern's Department of Psychiatry plan to participate. For more information, call 214-341-7133.

Dr. Charles R. Rosenfeld, professor of obstetrics and gynecology and director of the division of neonatal-perinatal medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center, was this year's recipient of the 2005 Founders Award at the Feb. 25 annual meeting of the Southern Society for Pediatric Research in New Orleans.

Dr. Rosenfeld was honored for his contributions in research regarding child health. His presentation to the society was titled, "Blood Pressure Regulation in the Fetus and Neonate: Development of the Renin-Angiotensin System."

###