177725,1711

NEWS

SOUTHWESTERN

MEDICAL SCHOOL AT DALLAS



BOB FENLEY, DIRECTOR OF INFORMATION

JOHN WEEKS, ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR

DALLAS--Nine faculty members have been cited for teaching excellence at the annual Student Teaching Awards luncheon of The University of Texas Southwestern Medical School.

One UTSMS teacher, Dr. Bruce D. Fallis, received two - "Distinguished Teaching Awards." Dr. Fallis, professor of pathology, was selected for honors by both the freshman and sophomore classes.

Others picked by a vote of freshmen students for teaching awards were Dr. Donald S. Wiggans, professor of biochemistry; and Dr. Ivan Danhof, associate professor of physiology. Honorable mention went to Dr. John C. Porter, professor of physiology; and Dr. Janice Dorn, assistant professor of physiology.

Others chosen by sophomore students were Dr. Jack Reynolds, professor and vice-chairman of radiology; and Drs. Alan K. Pierce, Jack A. Barnett and Jay P. Sanford, all professors of internal medicine.

Certificates honoring the distinguished teachers were presented by Stanley Crie, freshman class president, and Steve Davis, president of the sophomore class. Some 250 students and faculty members attended the awards luncheon May 19 in UTSMS' Skillern Student Union.

--more--

first add awards

Mike Weinberg, first-year medical student, presided at the luncheon. Weinberg and second-year student Bill Harford served as co-chairmen for the event, staged annually by freshman and sophomore classes at the Dallas medical school to recognize talented medical teachers.

MAY 25, 1971