Media Contact: Amanda Siegfried 214-648-3404 amanda.siegfried@utsouthwestern.edu

UT Southwestern faculty receive honors

DALLAS – Dec. 9, 2005 – Faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center recently were recognized for achievements in their fields.

Dr. Pingxi Xu, a postdoctoral fellow in the Center for Basic Neuroscience at UT Southwestern Medical Center, is the recipient of the 2005 Eppendorf and *Science* Prize for Neurobiology. The \$25,000 international award recognizes the work of promising young neurobiologists studying the brain and the nervous system. Dr. Xu's research focuses on how the brain interprets incoming olfactory signals, those associated with the sense of smell. As the grand prize winner, his essay was published in the scientific journal *Science* and he presented his research at the annual meeting of the Society for Neuroscience in Washington, D.C.

Dr. Mark DeHaven, associate professor of family and community medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center, was recently awarded the President's Award from the North American Primary Care Research Group (NAPCRG). The award is given to people who work behind the scenes to accomplish meaningful contributions in family medicine research through NAPCRG. Dr. DeHaven earned the award for his work building research capacity in residency training programs and co-creating "Just Do(ing) It!" – a research curriculum for residents recently endorsed by the Association of Family Medicine Residency Directors.

Dr. Arthur Sagalowsky, professor of urology and surgery at UT Southwestern Medical Center, is the new president-elect for the South-Central Section of the American Urological Association. Dr. Sagalowsky, holder of the Dr. Paul Peters Chair in Urology in Memory of Rumsey and Louis Strickland, was elected to this post at the group's recent annual meeting in Austin.

###