ICRNS THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS HEALTH SCIENCE CENTER AT DALLAS

southwestern medical school - graduate school of biomedical sciences - school of allied health sciences

Contact: Ann Harrell

DALLAS--Dr. Truman G. Blocker Jr., president of The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston, will give the commencement address at the third commencement exercises of The University of Texas School of Allied Health Sciences at Dallas Sunday afternoon, August 19 at 2:30 p.m. in the Weiss Building Auditorium at Methodist Hospital.

The school, which trains health professionals, is one of the components of The UT Health Science Center at Dallas. Others are Southwestern Medical School and the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences.

Conferring the 36 bachelor of science degrees and the 64 professional certificates will be Dr. Charles C. Sprague, president of the Health Science Center. Degrees to be bestowed are in the fields of instructional media, medical technology, physical therapy and rehabilitation science. Professional certification will be given for special programs in medical technology, physical therapy, rehabilitation science and dietetic internship.

Dr. John W. Schermerhorn, dean of the school, will preside.

Leading the academic procession will be Donald A. Pool. Joan V. Whitson will be assistant parade marshal. Invocation and benediction will be given by Chaplain Herman H. Cook, chaplain supervisor at Parkland Hospital.

Music will include "Rigaudon" by Andre Campra, processional, and "Symphone No. 6 for Organ Allegro" by Charles-Marie Widor, recessional. Glenn E. Pride will be organist for the occasion,

-- more --

Degree candidates include:

Instructional Media--May S. Cheney, Philip L. Chumlea and George William Gramley Jr.

Medical Technology--Howard DeForrest Ammerman, Elaine C. Ruth Bailey, Karen Stark Brown, Terry Datz, Morris Reagan Dixon, Christine F. Foster, Larry D. Franklin, Daisy Fay Goston, William R. Jacobs and Candace Lou Kane.

Cathy Ann McGough, Jimmy Earl Page, Farley Louis Rippetoe, Jananne Thornton Sherrell, Nilta Underwood Teague and Robert Theodore Victor.

Physical Therapy--Rene Francis Delahoussaye Jr., Helen Maria Duncan, Desne Lee Kell, Ellen Melinda Ledbetter, Priscilla Marie Marek, Jack Glenn O'Dell, Frances Herr Smith and Randall Lee Williams.

Rehabilitation Science--Darby Brockett, T. Charles Denny, Peggy O'Neill Erving, Helen Hendrix Howie, Molly Marie McGlasson, Molly Mirth McCook, Jim P. Parish, Michael E. Ruhnow and Elma Lynn Ennis Young.

Candidates for professional certification include:

Medical Technology--Martha Mary Becker and Mary Kathleen Watkins. Physical Therapy--Paula Noreen Breyfogle, Vincent Charles Buzzas, Charlotte Scruggs Clark, Cynthia Pine Connell, Walter Victor Copp Jr., Laurel Beth Currie, Andrew Michael Harris, Barbara Gary Hooton, Deborah Sue Hutcheson and William Paul Jones.

Joe M. Lara, Havala Kaye Ellis Neel, Paula Ruth Prothro, Dana Lynn Root, Carolyn Sink Utsey and Vernon Jack Vanden Berg.

Rehabilitation Science--Anthony Strauss Maddox, Willie E. Morris and Martha Wilkes Vernon.

Dietetic Internship--Mary Lou Eskestrand, Carolyn Florstedt, Sharon Davidson Johnson, Linda Mather Lavretta, Rebecca L. Perkins, Carla J. Rupp, LaVaun Jeanne Sears, Peggy Oleta Sheridan and Ann Leslie Steiner.

Degree candidates for bachelor of science degrees in medical technology, physical therapy and rehabilitation science also received certification in their specialties.

AUGUST 16, 1973

##