March 22, 1988

Susan Rutherford CONTACT: Office: 214/688-3404 214/349-7820 Home:

The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas 214/688-3404 5323 Harry Hines Boulevard Dallas, Texas 75235-9060 ****UT Southwestern breaks ground for Charles C. Sprague Clinical Science Building

DALLAS -- Groundbreaking ceremonies for the new Charles C. Sprague Clinical Science Building took place March 22 at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas.

Office of Medical Information Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas The University of Texas Southward Dallas Texas 75235-0060 214/61 The University Hines Boulevard Dallas Texas 75235-0060 214/61 5323 Harry Hines Boulevard

Office of Medical Information

The Sprague Clinical Science Building, located on Harry Hines Boulevard at Lofland Street, will physically link University Hospital and Parkland Memorial Hospital. University Hospital, under construction next door, is a privately funded teaching and referral hospital to be staffed by UT Southwestern faculty. Openings of both the Sprague Clinical Science Building and University Hospital are projected for early 1990.

The new clinical science building will provide much-needed office space for physician members of the UT Southwestern faculty who will serve patients at both University Hospital and at Parkland Memorial Hospital. Space has been allocated for teaching-conference areas as well as for academic offices and laboratories.

The University of Texas System Board of Regents named the building in honor of Dr. Charles Sprague, physician and president emeritus of UT Southwestern. Sprague led the medical center as president from 1967 until 1986. Today he contributes to the progress of the medical center as president and chief executive officer of Dallas' Southwestern Medical Foundation.

"The Sprague Clinical Science Building will open new pathways in teaching and research for UT Southwestern," said Dr. Kern Wildenthal, president of UT Southwestern. "It is fitting that the building be named for Dr. Sprague, who has contributed so much in so many ways to UT Southwestern. Under his leadership, UT Southwestern emerged as one of the great medical institutions in the country, and we are committed to sustaining the standards of excellence which he embraced."

When Sprague took charge, Southwestern was a medical school with three buildings, a budget of \$10 million and few more than 200 faculty members. During his tenure, UT Southwestern grew into a major medical center with more than 20 buildings. The budget increased to \$200 million and the faculty grew to

Sprague Building--page 2

more than 800. The medical center has had eight faculty members elected to the prestigious ranks of the National Academy of Sciences in the past decade and two faculty members awarded the 1985 Nobel Prize in Medicine -- the only Nobel laureates to receive the prize for medical research conducted in Texas.

Speakers at the groundbreaking ceremonies were Jack Blanton, chairman of The University of Texas System Board of Regents, Wildenthal and Sprague. Also participating in the ceremonies were The Honorable Annette Strauss, Mayor of Dallas; The Honorable Lee Jackson, Dallas County Judge; Paul Bass, chairman of the Board of Managers of Dallas County Hospital District; Dr. Ron Anderson, chief executive officer of Parkland Memorial Hospital; Donald Zale, chairman of the board of University Medical Center Inc.; Dr. Ronald Garvey, chief executive officer of University Hospital; Dr. Peter Fitzgerald, executive vice president for business affairs of UT Southwestern; and Dr. John Burnside, associate dean of clinical affairs at UT Southwestern.

The 126,000-square-foot Sprague Building will contain nine levels. Each floor will connect with University Hospital and Parkland. Architects for the building are Harper Kemp Clutts and Parker Architecture/Planning, Dallas. Construction is under the direction of Spaw-Glass General Contractors, Inc.

XXX

Distribution: AA, AB, AF, AF1, ADM, ADM1, SL

Note: The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas comprises Southwestern Medical School, Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences and Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School.