SOJTHWESTERN NEWS

Contact: Ellen Mayou

(214)648-3404

or e-mail: emayou@mednet.swmed.edu

FOUR UT SOUTHWESTERN PHYSICIANS RECEIVE HONORS

DALLAS — Sept. 25, 1997 — Four physicians affiliated with UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas recently received honors.

Chou-Long Huang, M.D., Ph.D., assistant professor of internal medicine at UT Southwestern, and Jeffrey Potts, Ph.D., a fellow in internal medicine, received the Lyndon Baines Johnson Research Awards presented by the American Heart Association, Texas Affiliate. The awards, established in 1976 to recognize outstanding cardiovascular research, are presented annually to two Texas researchers.

Janet Squires, M.D., associate professor of pediatrics at UT Southwestern, has been appointed treasurer of the Texas Medical Association Foundation Board of Trustees.

The foundation is the philanthropic arm of the Texas Medical Association (TMA). It was created to fund public health projects involving TMA in partnership with community and statewide organizations. Contributions from physicians, their spouses, and corporate and foundation grants provide funding for foundation projects.

Ellen Vitetta, Ph.D., has received the Connecticut College Medal, the school's highest honor. The award was created in 1969 to mark the 50th anniversary of the school's first graduating class. One Connecticut College graduate is chosen for the honor each year in recognition of accomplishments that have enhanced the school's reputation. Vitetta, professor of microbiology, holder of the Scheryle Simmons Patigian Distinguished Chair in Cancer Immunobiology and member of the National Academy of Sciences, earned her bachelor's degree in zoology and chemistry from Connecticut College.

###