SOJTHWESTERN NEWS

Media Contact: Amy Shields 214-648-3404 amy.shields@utsouthwestern.edu

UT SOUTHWESTERN FACULTY RECEIVE HONORS

DALLAS – Dec. 12, 2000 – Faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas recently were recognized for outstanding achievement in their fields.

Dr. Mashashi Yanagisawa, professor of molecular genetics at UT Southwestern, recently received an award from the Greater Dallas Asian American Chamber of Commerce for his contributions to medicine.

Yanagisawa led a team of researchers that discovered a hormone that is an important pathway in the regulation of hunger. He also was the senior author of a study of genetically engineered mice lacking that hunger molecule; the research led to the unexpected discovery that these rodents had the sleep disorder narcolepsy.

Dr. Jere Mitchell, professor of internal medicine and physiology, recently was awarded an honorary doctorate degree in medicine from the University of Copenhagen.

Mitchell has collaborated with the University of Copenhagen since 1976. He has published 26 articles based on studies performed at the University of Copenhagen in collaboration with Danish researchers.

In addition to directing UT Southwestern's Pauline and Adolph Weinberger Laboratory of Cardiopulmonary Research, Mitchell is holder of the S. Roger and Carolyn P. Horchow Chair in Cardiac Research, in Honor of Jere H. Mitchell, M.D.

Dr. Eric N. Olson, chairman of molecular biology at UT Southwestern, recently presented the Thomas W. Smith Memorial Lecture at the American Heart Association's Scientific Sessions 2000 in New Orleans.

Olson holds the Robert A. Welch Distinguished Chair in Science and the Nancy B. and Jake L. Hamon Distinguished Chair in Basic Cancer Research, and is director of the Nearburg Family Center for Basic Research in Pediatric Oncology and the Nancy B. and Jake L. Hamon Center for Basic Research in Cancer.

Dr. R. Sanders Williams, chief of cardiology, recently was presented the Duke University School of Medicine Distinguished Alumnus Award.

Williams, one of the world's leading molecular cardiologists, has made major contributions to the understanding of the basic mechanisms of cardiovascular disease.

He is director of UT Southwestern's Donald W. Reynolds Cardiovascular Clinical Research Center and Frank M. Ryburn Jr. Cardiac Center and holder of the Frank M. Ryburn Jr. Chair in Heart Research and James T. Willerson, M.D., Distinguished Chair in Cardiovascular Diseases.

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER AT DALLAS Southwestern Medical School • Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences • Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School Affiliated teaching hospitals and outpatient clinics

Office of News and Publications • 5323 Harry Hines Blvd., Dallas TX 75390-9060 • Telephone (214) 648-3404 • FAX (214) 648-9119