SOJTHWESTERN NEWS

Contact: Jennifer Donovan (214) 648-3404

UROLOGY CHAIRMAN APPOINTED TO DISTINGUISHED CHAIR

DALLAS — January 30, 1995 — Dr. John D. McConnell, chairman of the Division of Urology at UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, is the new holder of the E.E. Fogelson and Greer Garson Fogelson Distinguished Chair in Urology. The chair formerly was held by Dr. Paul C. Peters, clinical professor in urology, who retired as chairman of urology last year.

A gift to Southwestern Medical Foundation from Greer Garson Fogelson in 1988 established this distinguished chair to recognize the outstanding medical care given by Peters to her husband and former mayor of Dallas, E.E. "Buddy" Fogelson.

"It's a great honor to hold the distinguished chair that Dr. Peters held when he was chairman of urology," said McConnell. "Dr. Peters deserves enormous credit for personally working to develop these endowments, which express the gratitude of former patients of his who recognize the superb level of care that they received.

"His efforts and their gifts have enabled us to develop the urologic research program that has made UT Southwestern competitive in the field," McConnell said. "His philosophy was to use these funds as seed money to develop new and exciting urologic research programs, and I intend to continue in the same spirit."

McConnell said new research initiatives for the Division of Urology include development of basic research programs in urologic oncology and in pediatric bladder dysfunction.

A urology faculty member since 1984, McConnell is director of UT Southwestern's federally funded George M. O'Brien Urologic Research Center, one of only four in the nation funded to study prostate disease. He earned his medical degree magna cum laude at Loyola-Stritch School of Medicine.

###