Media Contact: LaKisha Ladson 214-648-3404 lakisha.ladson@UTSouthwestern.edu

UT Southwestern faculty receive honors

DALLAS – Oct. 26, 2010 – Faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center recently were recognized for achievements in their fields.

Dr. Andrew Trussler, assistant professor of plastic surgery at UT Southwestern Medical Center, recently received recognition from the nation's top two plastic surgery societies for groundbreaking research into facial anatomy. The American Society for Aesthetic Plastic Surgery presented its highest honor for research, the prestigious Tiffany Award for Best Scientific Presentation, for Dr. Trussler's study, "The Frontal Branch of the Facial Nerve Across the Zygomatic Arch: Anatomical Relevance of the High SMAS Technique." The study defined the depth and boundaries of the facial nerve over the cheekbone and outlined a safe procedure for protecting the nerve. Dr. Trussler earlier received the Leonard R. Rubin Award for best scientific presentation from the American Association of Plastic Surgery. For that study, Dr. Trussler reviewed 300 cases to identify procedures for managing difficult lower eyelids endoscopically.

Dr. Michael Brown and **Dr. Joseph Goldstein** of UT Southwestern Medical Center recently were named winners of the inaugural Earl and Thressa Stadtman Distinguished Scientist Award by the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. The award was established by friends and colleagues to "preserve the Stadtmans' legacies as scientists and mentors," according to the society. Dr. Brown, director of the Erik Jonsson Center for Research in Molecular Genetics and Human Disease, and Dr. Goldstein, chairman of molecular genetics, received the 1985 Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine for their discovery of the underlying mechanisms of cholesterol metabolism.

Dr. David Mangelsdorf, chairman of pharmacology at UT Southwestern Medical Center and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator, has been named the first holder of the Distinguished Chair in Pharmacology. Dr. Mangelsdorf, who also holds the Doris and Bryan Wildenthal Distinguished Chair in Medical Science, is an internationally prominent researcher in lipid biology. His research focuses on nuclear receptors, proteins that turn genes on and off in the body and serve as sensors in protecting human cells against unusually high and possibly toxic levels of lipids, such as cholesterol and fatty acids.

Dr. Elizabeth Palmarozzi, clinical vice chair and director of clinical operations in the Department of Family and Community Medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center, has been named holder of the Stanley Gilbert, M.D., Professorship in Family Practice. Dr. Palmarozzi also recently was elected president of the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association. Her research and publication interests include evidence-based medicine, type 2 diabetes, residency education, health policy and women in health professions.

###