SOJTHWESTERN NEWS

Media contact: Heather Stieglitz

(214) 648-3404

or e-mail: heather.stieglitz@email.swmed.edu

FORMER UT SOUTHWESTERN PRESIDENT RECOGNIZED WITH NEW SPRAGUE CHAIR IN HIS HONOR

DALLAS — October 29, 1998 – UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas is honoring its former president, Dr. Charles Cameron Sprague, by establishing the Charles Cameron Sprague, M.D., Chair in Medical Science.

Dr. Robert McKenna, vice chairman of pathology and professor of internal medicine, has been named the first holder of the new chair.

"It is very gratifying to see more and more of our distinguished faculty members such as Dr. McKenna being recognized by providing them with endowed chairs," Sprague said. "It is also an honor to have your name associated with such endowed positions. My congratulations to Dr. McKenna and my thanks to all those who made this possible."

Sprague has been a distinguished leader in the UT Southwestern medical community since he arrived in Dallas in 1967 to assume the deanship of the medical school — then the top post at the university. He had a vision of developing the school — which had a faculty of only 214 — into a life sciences center that would encompass education, research and patient care. After five years, he became president of the newly reorganized medical center, which continued expanding.

By the time Sprague retired in 1987, the full-time faculty had grown to 850, and the number of graduating doctors had more than doubled. Sprague was instrumental in recruiting and retaining some of UT Southwestern's most prominent faculty, including Nobel laureates Drs. Michael Brown and Joseph Goldstein.

After stepping down as head of UT Southwestern, Sprague became president of Southwestern Medical Foundation. From 1988 until 1995 he served as chairman of the (MORE)

SPRAGUE - 2

board and chief executive officer of the foundation.

A compassionate physician and hematologist, Sprague has received many honors for his dedication to medical education and to the community. He has served on the boards of numerous organizations including Shelter Ministries, the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation, the Hoblitzelle Foundation, Senior Citizens of Greater Dallas and the Dallas Zoological Society.

"It is an exceptional honor to be the first recipient of the Charles Cameron Sprague Chair in Medical Science," said McKenna, co-author of *The Handbook of Clinical Pathology* -- a premier clinical pathology reference used worldwide, and one of the world's leading authorities on leukemia. "It is particularly gratifying to be the holder of this chair that bears the name of such a visionary leader who has contributed so much to the success and growth of UT Southwestern. I am exceedingly grateful to those who have made this possible."

McKenna previously held the John H. Childers, M.D., Professorship in Pathology.

"UT Southwestern would not be the institute of quality and excellence it is today without the leadership of Charlie Sprague," said Dr. Kern Wildenthal, president of UT Southwestern.

"We are very pleased to be able to establish an additional endowed chair in his honor."

This is the second chair named for Dr. Sprague. In 1982 the Charles Cameron Sprague Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Science was created. The new Sprague chair was made possible by donations given in Sprague's honor after the first chair was endowed.

###

This news release is available on our World Wide Web home page at http://www.swmed.edu/home_pages/news/

To automatically receive news releases from UT Southwestern via e-mail, send a message to UTSWNEWS-REQUEST@listserv.swmed.edu. Leave the subject line blank and in the text box, type SUB UTSWNEWS