UT SOUTHWESTERN PROFESSOR ELECTED TO NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

DALLAS -- Dr. David L. Garbers, professor of pharmacology at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, has been elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences -- one of the highest honors attainable for an American scientist.

Garbers, also an investigator in the Howard Hughes Medical Institute at UT Southwestern, is the 10th UT Southwestern faculty member to be elected to the National Academy of Sciences since 1979. A total of 15 Texas medical scientists have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, including three from Baylor College of Medicine in Houston and one each from The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston and The University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center.

"When I received the phone call, I got kind of shaky," said Garbers, responding to the news of his election. "It was pretty sensational. It took my breath away."

Garbers' research centers on the mechanisms by which cells communicate with each other. He first concentrated on the mechanisms by which spermatozoa detect signals that are released from eggs. These findings have significant implications for fertility research.

His research also has led to the identification of a new type of cell-surface receptor in certain cells in humans and other mammals. These receptors regulate blood pressure, gastrointestinal function and a large number of other physiological processes.

"Dr. Garbers' research has broken important new ground," said Dr. Kern Wildenthal, UT Southwestern president. "We are proud that his work is being recognized by this prestigious organization of the world's leading scientists."

Wildenthal pointed out that while the majority of those elected to the National Academy of Sciences are from fields other than medicine, a majority of those elected from Texas since 1979 have been from UT Southwestern and the other medical institutions.

(More)

CONTACT: Lynn Gentry (214) 648-3404

NEWS

JULIERN

National Academy of Science--Garbers--2

Dr. William Neaves, dean of Southwestern Medical School, called Garbers' work "brilliant." He said Garbers "has made fundamental contributions to our understanding of cell communication and regulation, and we are just beginning to see the important practical applications of his work."

Garbers earned his bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from the University of Wisconsin in Madison. He did postdoctoral research at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tenn., joining the faculty there in 1974. He came to UT Southwestern in 1990.

The UT Southwestern researcher said he always wanted to be a scientist. "As a kid I really enjoyed investigating things. I thought more about rockets and space science then, but I ultimately chose to go into biomedical research. Evidently it was the right choice."

Garbers was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in April of last year.

The Howard Hughes Medical Institute, where Garbers works at UT Southwestern, conducts medical research at outstanding academic medical centers, hospitals and universities throughout the United States. The nationwide research organization was founded by aviator-industrialist Howard R. Hughes.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private organization of scientists dedicated to furthering science and its use for the general welfare. The academy was established in 1863 by a congressional act signed by Abraham Lincoln. Upon request, it acts as official advisor to the federal government in any matter of science or technology.

In all, 60 American members and 15 foreign associates were elected to the academy on April 27, including one other Texan.

###

NOTE: The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas comprises Southwestern Medical School, Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School, affiliated teaching hospitals and outpatient clinics.

NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCES MEMBERS AT UT SOUTHWESTERN

Dr. Ronald W. Estabrook	1979
Dr. Michael S. Brown	1980
Dr. Joseph L. Goldstein	1980
Dr. Jean D. Wilson	1983
Dr. Samuel M. McCann	1983
Dr. Jonathan W. Uhr	1984
Dr. Alfred G. Gilman	1985
Dr. Roger H. Unger	1986
Dr. A. James Hudspeth	1990
Dr. David L. Garbers	1993

Biochemistry Molecular Genetics Molecular Genetics Medicine Physiology Microbiology Pharmacology Medicine Cell Biology and Neuroscience Pharmacology