## SOJTHWESTERN NEWS

Media Contact: Amy Shields 214-648-3404 amy.shields@utsouthwestern.edu

## UT SOUTHWESTERN FACULTY RECEIVE HONORS

**DALLAS** – Feb. 9, 2001 – Faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas recently were recognized for outstanding achievement in their fields.

**Dr. Robert Alpern**, dean of Southwestern Medical School, recently became president of the American Society of Nephrology.

Alpern, a national dehydration expert and former chief of the division of nephrology at UT Southwestern, also holds the Ruth W. and Milton P. Levy Sr. Chair in Molecular Nephrology and the Atticus James Gill, M.D., Chair in Medical Science.

**Dr. Graham Emslie**, professor of psychiatry at UT Southwestern, recently won the 2000 Pamela Blumenthal Memorial Prism Award from the Mental Health Association of Greater Dallas.

Emslie was recognized for his long-term commitment to quality of care and dedicated delivery services to people with mental illness. Emslie, holder of the Charles E. and Sarah M. Seay Chair in Child Psychology, was one of the first psychiatrists to publish research on the use of antidepressants with children and adolescents.

**Bridget Bernadette Latson**, clinical assistant professor of clinical nutrition at UT Southwestern, recently achieved certified diabetes educator status from the National Certification Board for Diabetes Educators.

Certified diabetes educators possess distinct and specialized knowledge and promote quality care for patients with diabetes.

**Dr. James McCulley**, chairman of ophthalmology at UT Southwestern, has been named to the board of directors of Reading and Radio Resource, a Dallas organization devoted to meeting the reading needs of people who are visually, physically and learning impaired.

McCulley directs the Jean H. & John T. Walter Jr. Center for Research in Age-Related Macular Degeneration and holds the David Bruton Jr. Chair in Ophthalmology.

**Dr. Warren Weinberg**, professor of pediatrics, was recognized with special honors from the Learning Disabilities Association of Texas for his ongoing work for the organization.

Weinberg serves on the association's Professional Advisory Board and Annual State Conference Program Committee. The award credited him with helping make the association's annual conference one of the most successful in the nation.