SOJTHWESTERN NEWS

Contact: Jennifer Donovan
(214) 648-3404

TEN FACULTY MEMBERS HONORED

DALLAS - October 1, 1995 - **Dr. Jeffry Andresen**, professor of psychiatry at UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, has received the Association for Academic Psychiatry Teaching Award for 1995.

Dr. Andresen was presented with a plaque during the group's annual meeting in San Antonio.

Dr. Kenneth Z. Altshuler, chairman of psychiatry at UT Southwestern, said he was pleased that the organization chose to honor Andresen, calling him "a truly exquisite teacher."

Dr. Andresen earned a medical degree from the University of Pennsylvania.

Dr. James M. Atkins was honored recently for his work as medical director of the emergency medical system in Duncanville, Texas.

A professor of internal medicine specializing in cardiology,
Atkins is co-director of emergency medicine education at UT
Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas. He oversees training and
development of emergency medical systems in Duncanville and 11 other
cities, as well as at the Dallas-Fort Worth International Airport.

Atkins earned a bachelor's degree at Austin University and a medical degree at UT Southwestern.

Dr. Gunnar Blomqvist received the Louis H. Bauer Founders Award from the Aerospace Medicine Association at the group's annual meeting in Sausalito, Calif. The award is presented annually for "the most significant contribution in aerospace medicine."

Blomqvist is a professor of internal medicine and physiology and director of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration's Specialized Center of Research and Training in Physiology at UT

(MORE)

Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas. He has worked on NASA-supported research for a number of years at UT Southwestern.

He and his colleagues study how the heart and circulatory system adapt to zero gravity and readjust on return to Earth, how the muscle and skeletal systems adjust to space, how hormone levels change and how the kidneys adapt. Their research is conducted in simulated space conditions as well as on NASA life-sciences space flights.

Blomqvist earned a medical degree at the University of Lund School of Medicine in Sweden and a doctorate at the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm.

Dr. Michael D. Devous has been appointed chairman of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration's advisory committee on medical-imaging drugs. He will serve a two-year term as committee chairman.

Devous is an associate professor of radiology at UT

Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas. He earned a bachelor's degree

from Washington University and a doctorate from Texas A & M

University.

Dr. Ellen Taliaferro has been chosen to receive the 1995 James D. Mills Outstanding Contribution to Emergency Medicine Award. She was honored during an awards ceremony in September.

Taliaferro is an associate professor of surgery at UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas. She is co-founder of Physicians for a Violence-Free Society.

She earned her medical degree from the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine.

The National Kidney Foundation has inaugurated a commemorative award named in honor of Dr. Donald W. Seldin. The award recognizes

excellence in clinical nephrology in the tradition of Seldin, one of the foremost teachers and researchers in the field.

Former chairman of internal medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, Seldin founded the kidney and electrolyte metabolism laboratory there. He trained many of today's top practitioners and researchers in nephrology and internal medicine.

Seldin is vice president for medical center relations for Southwestern Medical Foundation. He earned a bachelor's degree from New York University and a medical degree from Yale University School of Medicine.

Dr. H. Jay Boulas was among 69 new surgeons recently elected to the American Society for Surgery of the Hand.

The purpose of the society, founded in 1946, is to stimulate research and investigation and to provide continuing medical education in methods of preventing, correcting and treating diseases and injuries of the hand and upper extremity.

An assistant professor of surgery at UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, Boulas earned his medical degree from UT Southwestern.

Dr. Julian A. Peterson, professor of biochemistry at UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, has been chosen as a member of the Physical Biochemistry Study Section of the Division of Research Grants at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Members of the study section review NIH grant applications and make research funding recommendations to the agency. Peterson's term runs through June 1999.

NEWSMAKERS

Peterson earned a master's degree and a doctorate at the University of Michigan.

Dr. Darrell Tanelian has been named associate editor of Anesthesiology, the journal of the American Society of Anesthesiologists.

Tanelian is director of the Eugene McDermott Center for Pain Management and holder of the Jane and Bill Browning Jr. Chair in Medical Science at UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas. He is an associate professor of anesthesiology and neurology.

He earned a medical degree at Stanford University School of Medicine and a doctorate from Stanford.

Ellen Heck, director of transplant services at UT Southwestern

Medical Center at Dallas, was named winner of the Heise Award by the

Eye Bank Association of America.

The Heise Award is the only award the coalition gives to nonphysicians. Heck is the only nonphysician on the certification and standards committee of the American Association of Tissue Banks.

UT Southwestern's eye bank program, under Heck's direction, was given an evaluation of "spectacular" by the Eye Bank Association following a recent site visit.

Heck earned a bachelor of science degree from Texas Woman's University.