Media Contact: LaKisha Ladson 214-648-3404 lakisha.ladson@UTSouthwestern.edu

UT Southwestern faculty receive honors

DALLAS – April 2, 2008 – Faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center recently were recognized for achievements in their fields.

Dr. James McCulley, chairman of ophthalmology at UT Southwestern Medical Center, is among 16 physicians in the U.S. elected to the Board of Directors of the Pan-American Association of Ophthalmology for the 2007-2009 term. The Pan-American Association of Ophthalmology, with members in more than 35 countries, is a non-profit organization to promote scientific and cultural exchange among ophthalmologists.

Dr. Matthew Cox, assistant professor of pediatrics at UT Southwestern Medical Center, has been selected by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission for membership on the Committee on Pediatric Centers of Excellence. The committee will work to improve the state's medical evaluation of child abuse and will make recommendations to the Texas Legislature by Dec. 1, 2008.

Dr. Craig Huang, assistant professor of pediatrics at UT Southwestern Medical Center, is one of five winners of the second annual Ali Abdulla Al-Ubaydli Scholarship for Mobile Medical Computing. Sponsored by clinical software developer Epocrates Inc., the scholarship gives winners the opportunity to work with technology expert Dr. Mohammed Al-Ubaydli. Medical residents and students from five continents applied for the scholarships.

###