SOJTHWESTERN NEWS

Contact: Reyes Abila Office: (214) 648-3404

INTERNAL MEDICINE CHAIRMAN ELECTED OFFICER OF ASSOCIATION OF PROFESSORS OF MEDICINE

DALLAS—July 13, 1993—Dr. Daniel W. Foster, chairman of internal medicine at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, has been elected secretary-treasurer of the Association of Professors of Medicine.

He was elected to the post April 30 in Washington, D.C., by the association's members, who chair internal medicine departments at the nation's 126 medical schools.

Foster succeeds Dr. Jack Stobo of Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, who will become president-elect. Foster will serve as president-elect in 1994 and as the association's president in 1995.

Foster, a 1955 graduate of UT Southwestern, joined the UT Southwestern faculty in 1962. He was named chairman of internal medicine at UT Southwestern in 1988 and holds the Donald W. Seldin Distinguished Chair in Internal Medicine.

He is a member of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, American Society for Clinical Investigation, the Association of American Physicians and the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences. He is a fellow of the American Academy for the Advancement of Science and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

A leading researcher in endocrinology and diabetes, Foster has received many awards recognizing his research on the intermediary metabolism of carbohydrates and lipids and its relationship to diabetes. He received the Banting Medal in 1984 and the Lukens Award this year. In 1988 he was named Outstanding Clinician in the Field of Diabetes and Outstanding Physician Educator in the Field of Diabetes by the American Diabetes Association. Other awards include the Joslin Medal and the Founders Medal of the Southern Society for Clinical Investigation.

For four seasons in the early 1970s, Foster was host of "Daniel Foster, M.D.," which aired on the Public Broadcasting System. The highly rated weekly show was broadcast in the United States, Great Britain and Europe.