## J SOUTHWESTERN NEWS

Media Contact: Amanda Siegfried 214-648-3404 Amanda.siegfried@utsouthwestern.edu

## Hobbs elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

DALLAS – April 24, 2006 – The American Academy of Arts and Sciences has elected Dr. Helen Hobbs, director of the Eugene McDermott Center for Human Growth and Development at UT Southwestern Medical Center, to membership. With her election, UT Southwestern now has 14 faculty members currently serving in the esteemed organization.

"This recognition from the American Academy of Arts and Sciences is a tremendous honor," said Dr. Hobbs, who also is a member of the National Academy of Sciences' Institute of Medicine, to which she was elected in 2004. "I'm fortunate to work in such an intellectually stimulating environment with great support from my colleagues and lab personnel."

The 175 fellows and 20 foreign honorary members elected today included such well-known figures as former U.S. presidents George H.W. Bush and Bill Clinton, Supreme Court Chief Justice John Roberts, and actor and director Martin Scorsese.

Dr. Hobbs directs the Donald W. Reynolds Cardiovascular Clinical Research Center at UT Southwestern and is leading the Dallas Heart Study, a multiyear, multimillion dollar project aimed at learning more about the hidden causes of heart disease and finding new treatments. She is also an investigator for the Howard Hughes Medical Institute at UT Southwestern.

Dr. Hobbs holds the Eugene McDermott Distinguished Chair for the Study of Human Growth and Development and the Dallas Heart Ball Chair in Cardiology Research. She earned her medical degree from Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine.

The academy's charter was enacted in 1780 by the Massachusetts Legislature. The current membership includes more than 170 Nobel laureates and 50 Pulitzer Prize winners. An independent policy research center, the Academy directs a program of projects, studies and publications regarding critical issues and current topics confronting society.

Other UT Southwestern faculty who are members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the year they were elected are:

Dr. Donald Seldin (1974), Dr. Michael Brown (1981), Dr. Joseph Goldstein (1981), Dr. Jean Wilson (1982), Dr. Alfred Gilman (1988), Dr. Daniel Foster (1992), Dr. David Garbers (1992), Dr.

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER AT DALLAS

Office of News and Publications • 5323 Harry Hines Blvd., Dallas TX 75390-9060 • Telephone 214-648-3404 • Telefax 214-648-9119 www.utsouthwestern.edu

## Steven McKnight (1992), Dr. Jonathan Uhr (1993), Dr. Roger Unger (1994), Dr. Eric Olson (1998), Dr. Ellen Vitetta (2003) and Dr. Eric Nestler (2005).

## ###

This news release is available on our World Wide Web home page at http://www.utsouthwestern.edu/home/news/index.html

To automatically receive news releases from UT Southwestern via e-mail, subscribe at <u>www.utsouthwestern.edu/receivenews</u>