Media Contact: Amanda Siegfried 214-648-3404 amanda.siegfried@utsouthwestern.edu

## UT Southwestern faculty receive honors

DALLAS – Nov. 26, 2007 – Faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center recently were recognized for achievements in their fields.

**Dr. Dwight Cavanagh**, vice chairman of ophthalmology at UT Southwestern Medical Center, has been awarded the 2007 British Contact Lens Association Medal, the organization's highest honor. The medal is given for outstanding lifetime achievement in the field of contact lenses. Dr. Cavanagh, whose research focuses on the cornea, is one of only 15 researchers worldwide to ever receive the award and only the third ophthalmologist to receive the honor. Dr. Cavanagh's research helped usher in a new class of hyper-oxygen transmitting lenses that better resist bacterial infections.

**Dr. Errol Friedberg**, chairman of pathology at UT Southwestern Medical Center, has been elected a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. The association bestowed fellowships on 471 members for "their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications." Dr. Friedberg was cited for his research related to DNA repair, which characterizes the roles of repair defects in human disease, and for editing textbooks on DNA repair.

**Dr. Don Rockey,** chief of digestive and liver diseases in the Department of Internal Medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center, has been elected to membership in the Association of American Physicians. The association has some 1,000 active members and approximately 550 emeritus and honorary members from the United States, Canada and other countries. Its goals include the pursuit of medical knowledge through experimentation and discovery in basic and clinical science. UT Southwestern now has 30 faculty members in the association.

###