FROM:

Frank Chappell Director of Medical Information The University of Texas Sousthwestern Medical School at Dallas 5323 Harry Hines Blvd. Dallas, Texas 75235 ME 1-3220

DALLAS--A Faculty Senate and Faculty Assembly have been organized at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical School with Dr. Morris Ziff, Professor of Internal Medicine, elected president of the Senate.

Also elected were Dr. Charles Gregory, Chairman of the Orthopedic Surgery Division, as vice president; and Dr. Bruce Fallis, Professor of Pathology, as secretary of the Senate.

Purpose of the assembly and senate are "to conceive, review, communicate and recommend policies for the achievement of excellence in the Health Sciences as necessary to assure that the beneficial influence of such excellence is continuously and widely diffused throughout society."

The Assembly consists of all full-time members of the faculty at Southwestern and the Senate is made up of members elected from each department plus two at-large members elected from the part-time faculty.

Senate representatives to the Faculty Council are Dr. Ziff and Dr. Robert Pike, Professor of Microbiology. The Senate's executive committee consists of Dr. Fallis; Dr. William Fields, Professor of Neurology; Dr. Gregory; Dr. Hal Weathersby, Professor of Anatomy; and Dr. Ziff.

Standing committees appointed by the Senate include Faculty Affairs, Curriculum Review, Student Admissions and Promotions Policy, Faculty Awards and Bylaws. Activities of the Senate are limited to investigation and recommendation.

July 12, 1968

##