Media Contact: Amanda Siegfried 214-648-3404 amanda.siegfried@utsouthwestern.edu

## **UT Southwestern faculty receive honors**

DALLAS – Feb. 10, 2006 – Faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center recently were recognized for achievements in their fields.

**Dr. Rody P. Cox**, professor of internal medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center, has been named Laureate of the Texas Chapter of the American College of Physicians, the chapter's highest honor. The award honors physicians who have demonstrated a long-term commitment to excellence in medical care, education or research and in service to their community and the physicians' college.

**Dr. Raymond Fowler**, associate professor of emergency medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center, recently received the award for Medical Director of the Year from the Texas Department of State Health Services. Dr. Fowler is a leader in EMS education, and is also the deputy medical director of the Dallas Metropolitan BioTel, the ambulance response system for Dallas and 13 surrounding cities.

**Dr. George McCracken**, professor of pediatrics at UT Southwestern Medical Center, received the 2005 Sumner J. Yaffe Lifetime Achievement in Pediatric Pharmacology and Therapeutics award from the Pediatric Pharmacy Advocacy Group during its recent annual meeting. Dr. McCracken pioneered research into the appropriate dosages of antibiotics for infants and newborns, which led to meningitis treatments and other therapies for pediatric infections that are considered the standard of care today.

###