SOJTHWESTERN NEWS

Media contact: Amy Shields 214-648-3404 amy.shields@utsouthwestern.edu

UT SOUTHWESTERN FACULTY RECEIVE HONORS

DALLAS – Nov. 3, 2000 – Faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas recently were recognized for outstanding achievement in their fields.

Dr. Robert Haley, chief of epidemiology and professor of internal medicine, recently was named a distinguished alumnus of Southern Methodist University. Holder of the U.S. Armed Forces Veterans Distinguished Chair for Medical Research, Honoring Robert Haley, M.D., and America's Gulf War Veterans, Haley is a 1967 graduate of SMU.

Dr. James McCulley, chairman of ophthalmology, has been appointed to the Prevent Blindness Texas board of directors. He will serve on the 25-member board for three years. McCulley holds the David Bruton Jr. Chair in Ophthalmology and is director of the Jean H. & John T. Walter Jr. Center for Research in Age-Related Macular Degeneration.

Dr. Robert Rege, chairman of gastrointestinal/endocrine surgery, has been appointed to the Hall and Mary Lucile Shannon Distinguished Chair in Surgery. Rege is currently holder of the Frank H. Kidd Jr. Distinguished Professorship in Surgery.

Dr. John Minna, director of the Nancy B. and Jake L. Hamon Center for Therapeutic Oncology Research, has been recognized by the Comprehensive Cancer Center at the University of Michigan with the Frank Moran Clinical Leadership Award.

The award is presented annually to one or two renowned physicians who have made outstanding contributions in the field of oncology.

Dr. Charles Pak, director of the Center for Mineral Metabolism and Clinical Research, recently received the American Society of Nephrology's Belding H. Scribner Award. The Scribner Award, which includes a \$2,500 prize, is given to individuals who excel in dialysis research and invention. Pak received this honor for his devotion to the study of kidney stones and osteoporosis throughout his career.