Sent to DALLAS NEWS and DALLA TIMES-HERALD for Educational Nu r

MEMORANDUM REGARDING SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL SCHOOL OF THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS

July 18, 1952

Southwestern Medical School of The University of Texas is located at 2211 Oak Lawn in Dallas. The Medical School was established by the Southwestern Medical Foundation in 1943 and became a part of The University of Texas in 1949. One hundred students are admitted to the first year class in September of each year. Applicants for admission to the first year must be residents of the State of Texas and must have completed at least three years of college or university work. Specific numbers of credits are required in such courses as Biology, Chemistry, Physics, English, History, American Government and Mathematics. Students are urged also to obtain an excellent background in the humanities. The curriculum comprises four academic years and is usually followed by at least one year of internship training.

The faculty of Southwestern Medical School is made up of a large group of highly trained and devoted scientists and clinicians. Forty-seven faculty members devote their full time to teaching and research. Three hundred and eighty-seven physicians and other professional personnel in the community participate in the education and research activities of the school and hold clinical appointments on the staff.

Southwestern Medical School is at present housed in temporary buildings.

However, plans are now being completed for a Basic Medical Science Building which will be constructed on the site of the new Medical Center on Harry Hines Boulevard. It is hoped that the new building will be under construction by December 1952. It will provide space for classrooms, student laboratories, and office and research laboratories for those departments which teach in the first two years of the medical school curriculum. An appropriation of \$2,750,000

was made by the 1951 Legislature for this building.

The major building need now confronting Southwestern Medical School is that of a Clinical Science Building to house those departments which teach primarily in the third and fourth years of the curriculum. These include: Medicine, Surgery, Psychiatry, Pediatrics, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Public Health, Biophysics, Experiemental Medicine and Medical Art. The Legislature will be requested to appropriate \$3,360,000 for the construction and equipping of such a building. This request has been approved by the Board of Regents of The University of Texas and is at present in the hands of the Legislative Budget Board and the Executive Budget Office.

The teaching program of Southwestern Medical School is carried on not only in the classrooms and laboratories of the medical school but, in addition, in many affiliated hospitals located in the Dallas area. Parkland Hospital operated by the City and County of Dallas, is immediately adjacent to the present site of the medical school and serves as the major teaching hospital. All of the clinical facilities of that hospital and its dispensary are available to the medical school throughout the entire year. Already under construction on Harry Hines Boulevard is Memorial Hospital, new \$10,000,000 City-County Hospital. When this is completed, it will become the primary teaching hospital of the medical school. The Veterans Administration Hospitals located at Dallas and McKinney together provide almost 1,000 beds, all of which are available for the teaching program. The 500-bed addition to the Dallas Veterans Administration Hospital is now under construction and, when available, will also be part of the teaching facilities. The Children's Medical Center, which includes Bradford Memorial Hospital for Babies, Children's Hospital of Texas, Dallas Child Guidance Clinic, Freeman Memorial Clinic, Hope Cottage Foundling Home and Well

Baby Clinic, O'Connor Hospital for Tuberculous Children and the Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Crippled Children (operated by the Masonic Bodies of Texas), is immediately adjacent to the present site of the medical school. The combined capacity of 243 beds provides an outstanding opportunity for the teaching of health problems as related to infants and children. Other Dallas hospitals which are affiliated with the medical school include: Baylor University Hospital with the Florence Nightingale Lying-In Hospital, Gaston Hospital, Methodist Hospital, and St. Faul's Hospital. The bed capacity of these hospitals totals 1,695 beds.

In addition to its program of undergraduate medical education which leads to the degree of Doctor of Medicine, the faculty of Southwestern Medical School participates in the training of interns and residents at the affiliated hospitals. The residency training programs prepare young men and women for careers in such medical specialties as internal medicine, pediatrics, surgery, psychiatry, obstetrics, and many others.

Southwestern Medical School is one of only a few colleges which offer graduate study leading to the degree of Master of Medical Art after two years of residence registration. This work is given on an individual basis by approval prior to the beginning of the program. A personal interview with the Chairman of the Department of Medical Art is required and his recommendation is prerequisite for consideration by the Committee of Admissions.

The faculty members of Southwestern Medical School conduct an active and diverse program of fundamental and clinical research. Poliomyelitis is under investigation from various angles. Investigations into various forms of cancer and heart disease are actively pursued. These research programs will be accelerated as additional space is provided.

Southwestern Medical School is looking forward to continued development and progress in its program of medical education, research and service for the betterment of the health of the people of Texas and the Southwest.