SOJTHWESTERN NEWS

Contact: Jennifer Donovan (214) 648-3404

INTERNATIONAL RESEARCH SOCIETY HONORS UT SOUTHWESTERN ENDOCRINOLOGIST

DALLAS—July 21, 1993—The Endocrine Society has honored Dr. Jean D. Wilson with its Fred Conrad Koch Award. Wilson is chief of endocrinology and metabolism in the Department of Internal Medicine at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas.

He received the award for his long record of achievement in endocrine research, his contributions to medical education and his service to professional organizations of academic medicine.

Wilson's research focuses on hormone action. He identified dihydrotestosterone (DHT)—a testosterone derivative—as the steroid that drives many of the processes attributed to the male androgenic hormones. He also found that accumulation of DHT in the prostate gland is a primary cause of benign prostatic hyperplasia (enlargement of the prostate).

Wilson previously received the Lita Annenberg Hazen Award for research that changed the medical profession's understanding and treatment of disease. His research laid the groundwork for the recent development of 5-alpha-reducatase inhibitors for the treatment of prostatic disease.

The Endocrine Society comprises more than 7,200 researchers, who specialize in the study of the fundamental physiology and clinical aspects of the endocrine glands, from 65 countries. Wilson served as president of the society in 1989-90 and previously received its Oppenheimer Award.

Wilson, who holds the Charles Cameron Sprague Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Science at UT Southwestern, is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Arts and Sciences.