SOJTHWESTERN NEWS

Media Contact: Amy Shields 214-648-3404 amy.shields@utsouthwestern.edu

UT SOUTHWESTERN FACULTY RECEIVE HONORS

DALLAS – March 31, 2004 – Faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas recently were recognized for outstanding achievement in their fields.

Dr. Linda Jackson, faculty associate in ophthalmology and optometrist at UT Southwestern, recently received an Outstanding Service Award from the Dallas County Optometric Society recognizing her work as the society's president, a post she held in 2002-03.

Dr. Jackson earned her optometry degree from Southern College of Optometry in Memphis, Tenn. Her research and clinical interests include work with contact lenses, especially lenses with extremely high oxygen permeability.

Dr. Norman Kaplan, clinical professor of internal medicine at UT Southwestern, recently received the International Society of Hypertension's Stevo Julius Award for Excellence in Public and Professional Communication.

The award was presented at the society's 20th annual scientific meeting in São Paulo, Brazil, in recognition of Dr. Kaplan's outstanding work in hypertension and cardiovascular disease – in research, teaching and his practice. Dr. Kaplan is one of the world's foremost authorities on high blood pressure.

The National Foundation for Infectious Disease recently presented its annual award for scientific achievement to **Dr. George H. McCracken Jr.**, professor of pediatrics at UT Southwestern and an internationally known expert on pediatric infectious diseases

Dr. McCracken received the 2004 Maxwell Finland Award for Scientific Achievement at a dinner held in his honor in Washington, D.C.

Dr. McCracken was among the first researchers to explore how to treat infectious diseases in infants and children, and he is credited with establishing treatment protocols used worldwide.