## J SOUTHWESTERN NEWS

Media Contact: LaKisha Ladson 214-648-3404 lakisha.ladson@UTSouthwestern.edu

## UT Southwestern faculty receive Parkland honors

DALLAS – July 30, 2009 – Faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center recently were recognized by the Parkland Health & Hospital System for achievements in their fields.

**Dr. Royce Laycock,** professor emeritus of surgery at UT Southwestern, recently was honored with a Heroes of Our Heritage Award. Presented for only the eighth time, the Heroes of Our Heritage Award recognized Dr. Laycock for championing unprecedented excellence in health care and for helping improve the lives of Parkland patients on a historic level.

"Those honored by this award have helped develop safety-net services for the community and, in the spirit of servanthood, have made self-sacrifices to ensure that patients are treated with respect and humanity," said Dr. Ron Anderson, president and chief executive officer of Parkland, and professor of internal medicine at UT Southwestern.

Dr. Laycock is a 1954 graduate of Southwestern Medical School and is a founder and member of the executive committee of the Parkland Surgical Society. Parkland is the primary adult patient teaching hospital for UT southwestern faculty physicians.

Three UT Southwestern physicians in Parkland Memorial Hospital's departments of dermatology, orthopaedic surgery and plastic surgery were among those recognized for their dedication, compassion and ongoing pursuit of excellence.

The Parkland Health & Hospital System annually recognizes as distinguished physicians those whose contributions have gone above and beyond the call of duty, and this year's Distinguished Physicians honorees were:

- **Dr. Karen Houpt**, professor of dermatology at UT Southwestern, chief of dermatology at Parkland and medical director of Parkland's dermatology clinic;
- **Dr. Jeffrey Janis,** associate professor of plastic surgery at UT Southwestern, chief of plastic surgery at Parkland, medical director of the hospital's plastic surgery clinics and program director for the Plastic Surgery Residency Program; and
- Dr. Adam Starr, associate professor of orthopaedic surgery at UT Southwestern and chief of orthopaedic surgery at Parkland.

The Distinguished Physician Awards recognize physicians for outstanding individual contributions to Parkland, according to Dr. John Jay Shannon, associate professor of internal medicine at UT Southwestern and Parkland's executive vice president and chief medical officer.

UT Southwestern Medical School • UT Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences • UT Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School UT Southwestern University Hospitals & Clinics