Media Contact: LaKisha Ladson 214-648-3404 lakisha.ladson@UTSouthwestern.edu

UT Southwestern faculty receive honors

DALLAS – Nov. 30, 2009 – Faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center recently were recognized for achievements in their fields.

Dr. Bruce Carr, professor of obstetrics and gynecology at UT Southwestern, has been elected President of the Society for Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility, a group dedicated to the education and support of board certified physicians who treat reproductive disorders and infertility affecting both men and women. He has also been appointed to the Executive Board of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. Dr. Carr's specialties include infertility, polycystic ovarian disease, uterine disorders, contraception and menopause.

Dr. Gordon Green, professor of family and community medicine at UT Southwestern, recently received the Texas Public Health Association's James E. Peavy Memorial Award, the association's highest honor. The Peavy Award is presented annually to a Texas public health worker who has made significant contributions to the advancement of public health knowledge or practice. Through the years, Dr. Green has served in numerous public health positions including director of the Dallas County Health Department, deputy director of health services delivery for Region VI of the U.S. Public Health Service, and director of occupational health and safety for the National Center for Toxicological Research. Dr. Green most recently served as dean of the UT Southwestern School of Health Professions, from 1991 to August 2006.

Dr. Willis Maddrey, executive vice president for clinical affairs and professor of internal medicine at UT Southwestern, was recently awarded the Distinguished Alumnus Award from Johns Hopkins University. Dr. Maddrey, a 1964 graduate, was later a member of the faculty, rising to the level of professor of medicine and associate physician in chief. An internationally recognized expert in the field of liver disease, he has made important contributions in the area of alcohol-induced liver disease and liver damage from therapeutic drugs. Dr. Maddrey has served as president of both the American College of Physicians and the American Association for the Study of Liver Disease.

Dr. Elizabeth Parks, associate professor of clinical nutrition at UT Southwestern, has been appointed a member of the Clinical and Integrative Diabetes and Obesity Study Section, part of the National Institutes of Health's Center for Scientific Review. She joins the approximately two dozen UT Southwestern faculty members currently serving on study sections covering various basic and clinical topics. As a member, Dr. Parks will review grant applications submitted to the NIH for laboratory and clinical studies related to the prevention, pathogenesis and treatment of diabetes and obesity.

#

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER AT DALLAS

UT Southwestern Medical School • UT Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences • UT Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School
UT Southwestern University Hospitals & Clinics