

CONTACT: Ann Williams Office: 214/688-3404 Home: 214/375-6043

******Dr. Thomas E. Andreoli, kidney researcher, named Winans Visiting Professor at UTHSCD.

DALLAS--Dr. Thomas E. Andreoli, a noted researcher of kidney disease and renal physiology, has been selected the 1981 Winans Visiting Professor of Medicine at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Dallas. Andreoli, chairman of the Department of Internal Medicine at The University of Texas Medical School at Houston, will lecture on "The Hypotonic Syndromes: Osmoregulatory Failure" at Internal Medicine Grand Rounds at 11 a.m., March 26, in Richardson Lecture Hall (Room D1.502).

Andreoli, who is also director of the Division of Nephrology at the Houston medical school and physician-in-chief at Hermann Hospital, is a <u>magna cum laude</u> graduate of Georgetown University. He has held faculty appointments at Duke University and at University of Alabama School of Medicine, where he directed the Nephrology Research and Training Center and the Hemodialysis Unit. He trained at Duke Hospital and at Baltimore City Hospitals in the NIH Gerontology Section Laboratory of Intermediary Metabolism.

The researcher serves as editor of "American Journal of Physiology: Renal, Fluid and Electrolyte Physiology" and as associate editor of "Annual Review of Physiology (Renal and Electrolyte Physiology)" and of "American Journal of Medicine." He is on the editorial board of "Journal of Clinical Investigation."

Traditionally, the Winans professor is a distinguished clinical scholar who is invited to conduct rounds with students and house staff members at Parkland Memorial Hospital and Baylor University Medical Center and to exchange ideas with faculty in order to enrich the academic quality of the health science center programs.

Funds to bring the visiting lecturer to Dallas each year are provided by the South-western Medical Foundation from the income of its Henry M. Winans Fund, established in 1966 by friends and patients of the late Dr. Winans, who was chairman of the Department of Internal Medicine at Southwestern Medical School and chief of medicine at Baylor.