SOJTHWESTERN NEWS

Media Contact: Scott Maier 214-648-3404 scott.maier@utsouthwestern.edu

UT Southwestern faculty receive honors

DALLAS – March 4, 2005 – Three faculty from UT Southwestern Medical Center recently were recognized for outstanding achievement in their fields.

Dr. Rod Rohrich, chairman of plastic surgery at UT Southwestern Medical Center and immediate past president of the American Society of Plastic Surgery, has been named editor of *Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery* (PRS), the official medical journal of the ASPS. He is the sixth editor in the almost 60-year history of the journal and will serve for a minimum of six years.

Dr. Rohrich has served on the editorial staff of PRS since 1992 and was instrumental in launching the online version of the journal, as well as developing the cosmetic and continuing medical education (CME) sections of PRS.

Dr. John Minna has been honored with the Distinguished Service Award for Scientific Achievement from the American Society of Clinical Oncology.

Dr. Minna directs the W.A. "Tex" and Deborah Moncrief Jr. Center for Cancer Genetics and the Nancy B. and Jake L. Hamon Center for Therapeutic Oncology Research at UT Southwestern Medical Center.

The award will be presented at the ASCO annual meeting, May 13-17, in Orlando, Fla. It is part of the organization's 2005 Special Awards, given annually to leaders in the oncology community who have made significant contributions to enhancing the quality of cancer care.

Dr. Qinghua Liu, assistant professor of biochemistry at UT Southwestern Medical Center, has received a 2005 Damon Runyon Scholar Award, given annually to five young cancer scientists in the early part of their independent research careers.

Dr. Liu will receive \$100,000 every year for the next three years from the Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation. The award is intended to provide funding to promising junior faculty to help establish their own laboratories. Dr. Hui Zou, assistant professor of molecular biology at UT Southwestern, received this award in 2003.

###