## SOJTHWESTERN NEWS

Contact: Jennifer Donovan (214) 648-3404

## UT SOUTHWESTERN FACULTY MEMBERS HONORED

DALLAS — August 29, 1994 — Ten faculty members at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas have been honored recently for excellence in their fields.

Dr. Paul R. Bergstresser, chairman of dermatology and J.B. Shelmire Professor in Dermatology, received the American Skin Association's annual Dermatitis Research Award for 1994. He was recognized for his contact dermatitis research, which has greatly improved the understanding of the immune cells' role in allergic contact dermatitis and the understanding of other forms of dermatitis.

Dr. M. Linette Casey, associate professor of biochemistry and of obstetrics and gynecology, won the President's Achievement Award from the Society for Gynecologic Investigation at its annual meeting. The award is given annually to a junior member of the society whose record in scientific investigation is outstanding, to encourage a continued productive career in research.

Dr. Eric J. Eichhorn, associate professor of internal medicine, received the Arthur S. Flemming Award for his cardiology research at the Dallas Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center. The award is presented annually in Washington, D.C. by the Downtown Jaycees to recognize excellence in government service. Eichhorn is director of the cardiac catheterization lab at the Dallas VA Medical Center, a UT Southwestern teaching hospital. He was cited for pioneering studies in heart failure.

Dr. Ronald W. Estabrook, professor of biochemistry and holder of the Virginia Lazenby O'Hara Chair in Biochemistry and the Cecil H. and Ida M. Green Chair in Biomedical Science, was honored by the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and the International Society for the Study of Xenobiotics at a symposium convened in his honor in Washington, D.C. The symposium was called "The Cytochromes P450: Structure, Function, Regulation and Genetics." Estabrook, elected

(MORE)

## FACULTY HONORED — 2

UT Southwestern's first member of the National Academy of Sciences in 1979, has been conducting research on cytochrome P450 for more than 30 years. He has served as chairman of biochemistry and dean of Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences at UT Southwestern.

Dr. W. Eric Foster, assistant professor of anesthesiology and pain management and an instructor of internal medicine, won an Award for Innovative Health Care Delivery from the LifeSciences Technology Partners, L.P., and George Washington University's Center for Health Policy Research. One of five winners nationwide, Foster was recognized for developing a computer-assisted preoperative assessment program that uses pictures and narration to ask patients questions while they sit in a waiting room. In a study of 50 patients at Parkland Memorial Hospital, the computer-instructed group performed significantly better on a test evaluating recall of instructions before and after surgery than patients receiving standard instructions.

Dr. Scott M. Grundy, director of UT Southwestern's Center for Human Nutrition and holder of the Distinguished Chair in Human Nutrition, received the Roger J. Williams Award in Preventive Nutrition from the University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth, for his contributions to the prevention of disease and promotion of health through nutrition. The award commemorates the pioneering nutritional research of the late Dr. Roger J. Williams, founding director of the Clayton Foundation Institute at The University of Texas at Austin.

Dr. Mike Kashner, associate professor of psychiatry at UT Southwestern, was honored with the Health Services Associate Research and Development Career Scientist Award from the Department of Veterans Affairs. Kashner conducts research at the Dallas Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center, a UT Southwestern teaching hospital.

Dr. William H. Landschulz, assistant professor of internal medicine at UT Southwestern, has been named a recipient of a Charles E. Culpeper Foundation Scholarship in Medical Science for 1994. The award of \$100,000 a year for up to three years will help fund Landschulz's research to identify genes important to the development of thyroid cancer. The Culpeper Foundation is a private, nonprofit

## FACULTY HONORED — 3

charitable foundation established by the late Charles E. Culpeper, one of the pioneers in the bottling and marketing of Coca-Cola.

Dr. Paul C. Peters, holder of the E.E. Fogelson and Greer Garson Fogelson Distinguished Chair in Urology and the Dr. Paul Peters Chair in Urology in Memory of Rumsey and Louis Strickland, was honored by the Southwest Organ Bank and by the American Foundation for Urologic Disease. At the Southwest Organ Bank's 20th anniversary celebration, Peters was presented with a plaque commemorating 20 years of service to the organ procurement program, which he initiated in North Texas. The American Foundation for Urologic Disease recognized him with a Special Presidential Award for his dedication, commitment and philanthropic support. The nonprofit organization is dedicated to the prevention and cure of urologic diseases through research, education and expanded patient services. Peters served as chairman of urology at UT Southwestern 1971-1993.

**Dr. Ellen Taliaferro**, associate professor of emergency medicine, received the 1994 Injury Prevention Award from the American College of Emergency Physicians, State Chapter of California.