## **SOJTHWESTERN NEWS**

Media Contact: Amy Shields 214-648-3404 amy.shields@utsouthwestern.edu

## UT SOUTHWESTERN FACULTY RECEIVE HONORS

**DALLAS** – Aug. 30, 2002 – Faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas recently were recognized for outstanding achievement in their fields.

**Dr. Errol Friedberg**, chairman of pathology at UT Southwestern, has been elected as a fellow in the American Academy of Microbiology.

Friedberg is a pioneer in using yeast as a model in biochemical and genetic studies and has made important strides in understanding the mechanisms of transcription and DNA repair.

Members of the AAM are elected by their peers through a highly selective, annual evaluation process and admitted to fellowship based on leadership records and outstanding original work that has advanced microbiological sciences. Friedberg is one of 1,700 scientists elected to fellowship in the 47-year history of the organization.

**Dr. Clyde Yancy**, associate professor of internal medicine at UT Southwestern, recently received the Dr. Daniel D. Savage Memorial Scientific Award from the Association of Black Cardiologists Inc.

The award was presented during the association's 15<sup>th</sup> Annual President's Awards Banquet in Atlanta.

Yancy has conducted extensive research on effective therapies used to treat patients with advanced heart disease.

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER AT DALLAS

Southwestern Medical School • Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences • Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School Affiliated teaching hospitals and outpatient clinics