

March 6, 1991

CONTACT: Lynn Gentry
Office: 214/688-3404
Home: 214/231-3766

**** Three at UT Southwestern elected Fellows of AAAS

DALLAS -- Three faculty members at The University of Texas

Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas are among seven Texans working in higher education elected Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

A Fellow is an AAAS member whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of science is scientifically or socially distinguished.

Drs. William B. Neaves, dean of Southwestern Medical School;

J. Donald Capra, professor of microbiology; and Roger N. Rosenberg,

professor and chairman of the Neurology Department at UT South
western, were three of 280 individuals nationwide named Fellows of

AAAS.

Dr. Neaves was honored for his pioneering studies of cells that produce sex hormones and for leadership in academic medicine.

Dr. Capra was selected for his work in immunology and its application to clinical medicine. He holds the Edwin L. Cox Distinguished Chair in Immunology and Genetics.

Dr. Rosenberg was elected for his research into the molecular genetics of neurological diseases, for co-discovering a genetic disease that causes degeneration of the spinocerebellar portion

of the brain and for leadership in academic neurology. He holds the Abe "Brunky," Morris and William Zale Distinguished Chair in Neurology.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science, formed in 1848, is the country's leading scientific organization. It currently has more than 132,000 members and nearly 300 affiliated scientific and engineering societies and academies of science. The AAAS publishes the weekly journal Science.

Faculty members from Rice, University of North Texas, Texas A&M, and The University of Texas at Austin also were named Fellows.

###

NOTE: The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas comprises Southwestern Medical School, Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences and Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School.