## OLTHWESTERN NEWS

## MEDICAL CENTER FACULTY HONORED

DALLAS--Eleven faculty members at The University of Texas

Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas have been recognized recently

for their contributions to their fields.

Dr. Orval Brown, associate professor of otorhinolaryngology, has been elected president of the Society for Ear, Nose and Throat Advances in Children (SENTAC). Brown will preside over the group's annual meeting in Toronto in December.

Dr. Jureta Horton, associate professor of surgery, has been appointed to the editorial board of *Circulatory Shock*. She also has been appointed as a basic-science counselor on the governing board of the Shock Society.

Dr. John D. Minna, received the C. Chester Stock Award at the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center's academic convocation. The award is given annually to an individual who has made significant contributions to the advancement of knowledge about cancer. Minna is director of the Harold C. Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center and holder of the Lisa K. Simmons Distinguished Chair in Comprehensive Onocology at UT Southwestern Medical Center.

Dr. A. John Rush Jr., professor of psychiatry, has been selected as the 29th recipient of The Institute of Pennsylvania Hospital Award. The award is given annually to a young psychiatrist who has made a significant contribution to patient care or treatment.

(More)

CONTACT: Kay Johnson (214) 688-3404 Rush holds the Betty Jo Hay Distinguished Chair in Mental Health and is director of the Mental Health Clinical Research Center at UT Southwestern Medical Center.

**Dr. Neal Seymour**, assistant professor of surgery, received the Career Development Award from The Society for Surgery of the Alimentary Tract.

Dr. Erwin R. Thal, professor of surgery, received the Distinguished
Achievement Award from the American Trauma Society. Thal, who also serves as
medical director of the surgical emergency room at Parkland Memorial Hospital,
was recognized for his leadership in improving trauma care and prevention.

Dr. Madhukar Trivedi, assistant instructor in psychiatry has been selected as a National Alliance for Research on Schizophrenia and Depression Young Investigator.

Dr. Vickie A. Vaclavik, adjunct professor of clinical nutrition, is senior editor on a food-science laboratory manual called *Dimensions of Food*, 3rd edition. The book will be published by Van Nostrand Reinhold this month.

Dr. R. James Valentine, assistant professor of surgery, has been appointed the Royal College of Surgeons Foundation Inc. Merck Traveling Fellow for 1992. The \$5,000 grant will allow him to observe the practice and teaching of vascular surgery in Great Britain.

Dr. Ellen S. Vitetta, professor of microbiology and director of the Cancer Immunobiology Center, has been selected to receive the first Abbott Laboratories Award in Clinical and Diagnostic Immunology. The award will be presented annually to an individual who has made significant contributions to the understanding of the functioning of the host immune system in human disease, clinical approaches to diseases involving the immune system, or

Newsmakers, August '92--3

development or clinical application of immunodiagnostic procedures. Vitetta holds the Scheryle Simmons Patigian Distinguished Chair in Cancer Immunobiology.

Dr. Robert V. Walker, professor of oral and maxillofacial surgery, was presented the Distinguished Service Award at the American Trauma Society's 19th annual meeting. The award recognizes his leadership, achievements and dedication to preventing trauma and improving trauma care.

###

NOTE: The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas comprises Southwestern Medical School, Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School, affiliated teaching hospitals and outpatient clinics.