

UT SOUTHWESTERN FACULTY RECEIVE HONORS

DALLAS – October 26, 1998 – Faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas recently were recognized for outstanding achievement in their fields:

Dr. John McConnell, urology chairman at UT Southwestern, has been named to the National Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases Advisory Council of the National Institutes of Health. He was appointed by U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services Donna Shalala.

Dr. Masashi Yanagisawa was one of seven scientists named a 1998 Kilby Awards Foundation laureate. Yanagisawa is a professor of molecular genetics at UT Southwestern and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator. He has received worldwide recognition for his discovery of endothelin, a blood pressure-raising hormone and the appetite-controlling hormones called orexins. This is the ninth year that the awards have been presented in part as recognition of Jack St. Clair Kilby, who invented and built the first monolithic integrated circuit, or microchip, while working at Texas Instruments.

Drs. Michael Norgard and Robert Munford were elected fellows of The American Academy of Microbiology. The academy honors microbiologists involved in teaching, public health, industry, government, and basic and applied research. Investigators are elected to fellowship based on their scientific excellence, originality, leadership, high ethical standards, and scholarly and creative achievement. The fellows provide microbiological expertise to other investigators and the public.

Norgard, chairman of microbiology at UT Southwestern, concentrates his research on the related bacteria that cause syphilis and Lyme disease. Munford, professor of internal medicine and microbiology at UT Southwestern, researches the host molecules that detoxify a bacterial poison thought to cause many cases of septic shock and death from infection.

Dr. Clyde Yancy Jr. was recently installed as president of the American Heart Association, Texas affiliate. Yancy has been actively involved in the association on local, state and national levels for many years. In addition, he was recently named co-chairman of the Texas Medical Association's Coalition for Cardiovascular Disease and Stroke Prevention. Yancy is an associate professor of internal medicine at UT Southwestern.

Dr. Benjamin Levine, associate professor of internal medicine at UT Southwestern and director of the Institute for Exercise and Environmental Medicine, has been awarded the 1998 Research Award by the Wilderness Medical Society for his work on the physiological effects of

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER AT DALLAS

Southwestern Medical School • Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences • Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School Affiliated teaching hospitals and outpatient clinics

Office of News and Public Information • 5323 Harry Hines Blvd., Dallas TX 75235-9060 • Telephone (214) 648-3404 • FAX (214) 648-9119

altitude and exercise. Levine's research on altitude training and environmental adaptation is part of a growing body of knowledge that is becoming increasingly recognized as wilderness medicine.

Dr. Ivor Benjamin received an Award of Merit from the American Heart Association, Dallas Division in recognition of his personal involvement and commitment to the organization and its goals. Benjamin is an associate professor of internal medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas.

Dr. Ronald Charles was selected for the Greater Dallas Chamber of Commerce's 1998-99 Leadership Dallas Class, an annual program that trains emerging business leaders in community responsibility. Participants attend classes covering issues such as government, health care and criminal justice. Charles is an assistant professor of emergency medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas.

###