SOJTHWESTERN NEWS

Media Contact: Scott Maier 214-648-3404 scott.maier@utsouthwestern.edu

Three UT Southwestern faculty receive honors

DALLAS – Sept. 17, 2004 – Three faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas recently were recognized for outstanding achievement in their fields.

Dr. Jonathan C. Weissler, chief of pulmonary/critical care medicine at UT Southwestern, has been elected president of the Association of Subspecialty Professors (ASP). The ASP is the national organization of subspecialty internal medicine divisions at medical schools in the United States.

The ASP is the third national academic organization that Dr. Weissler has been president of in the last decade. Dr. Weissler has also headed the American Federation for Clinical Research and the Association of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Program Directors. His research focuses on regulation of surfactant protein production.

Dr. Alice Smith, professor of pathology and senior member of the Hamon Center for Therapeutic Oncology Research, recently received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Texas Society of Cytology.

Dr. Smith was the primary architect of the diagnostic cytology program at UT Southwestern and has received numerous awards for her cell biology research from the American Cancer Society, the Texas Society of Pathologists and other organizations. A Phi Beta Kappa graduate of UT Austin, she was part of UT Southwestern's first freshman class and received her medical degree from Southwestern Medical School in 1946. She also was the first pathology resident to complete full training at Parkland Memorial Hospital.

Debra Cason, associate professor of health care sciences and director of the emergency medical services program in the Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School at UT Southwestern, recently received the first Lifetime Achievement Award given by the National Association of EMS Educators at the association's symposium in Los Angeles. She was recognized for her ability to encourage standards of excellence in others and for her role as a mentor to EMS instructors.

Ms. Cason has taught paramedics at the medical center since 1977 and was appointed to the faculty in 1992. She is a member of the Emergency Nurses Association, National Association of EMTs, National Association of EMS Physicians and the National Association of EMS Educators.

###

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER AT DALLAS

Southwestern Medical School • Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences • Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School Affiliated teaching hospitals and outpatient clinics

Office of News and Publications • 5323 Harry Hines Blvd., Dallas TX 75390-9060 • Telephone (214) 648-3404 • FAX (214) 648-9119