SOJTHWESTERN NEWS

Media Contact: Amanda Siegfried 214-648-3404 amanda.siegfried@utsouthwestern.edu

UT Southwestern faculty receive honors

DALLAS – September 2, 2005 – Faculty members from UT Southwestern Medical Center recently were recognized for outstanding achievement in their fields.

Dr. Daniel Skiest, associate professor of internal medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center, was named a fellow to the American College of Physicians. The distinction recognizes achievements in internal medicine by the ACP, which is the second-largest physician group in the country. More than 115,000 internists, related subspecialists and medical students are members. Dr. Skiest's subspecialty is infectious disease, and he specializes in treating patients with HIV and AIDS.

The Texas Dietetic Association has awarded special honors to UT Southwestern Center faculty members **Dr. Jo Ann Carson**, **Lona Sandon** and **Leigh Ann Kowalsky**, as well as **Christina Johnson**, a recent graduate of the clinical dietetics program of UT Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School.

Dr. Carson, professor of clinical nutrition, was named the 2005 Texas Distinguished Dietitian of the Year, the association's highest honor. Ms. Sandon, assistant professor of clinical nutrition, was named the 2005 Recognized Young Dietitian of the Year. She serves as a national spokesperson of the American Dietetic Association. Ms. Kowalsky, clinical instructor of clinical nutrition, was named an Outstanding Dietetics Educator. Ms. Johnson, who graduated from the Allied Health Sciences School in June, was named the 2005 Outstanding Dietetics Student of the Year.

###

THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS SOUTHWESTERN MEDICAL CENTER AT DALLAS Southwestern Medical School • Southwestern Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences • Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School Affiliated teaching hospitals and outpatient clinics

Office of News and Publications • 5323 Harry Hines Blvd., Dallas TX 75390-9060 • Telephone (214) 648-3404 • FAX (214) 648-9119